UVM Libraries Research Guides: Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies: Find Articles

Core Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and books.
Truncation symbol: *
Coverage 1972 - present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of publications pertinent to the study of gender from an international perspective. Particularly useful for locating the full-text of articles from small magazines.
Truncation symbol: *
Coverage 1974 - present.

Independent Voices
Digitized editions of small and independent press papers including subsets of GI papers, LGBTQ papers, feminist papers, and prison papers. Most titles date from the 1950s-1980s.
LGBTQ+ Source
This collection provides full-text to current and historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Queer (LGBTQ) journals, magazines, regional newspapers, and a selection of full-text e-books.

More Databases

Because Women's & Gender Studies is an interdisciplinary subject, databases from many areas of study such as education, history, political science, art, literature, and sociology will include appropraite material. The list below is only a small selection of databases that you can use to locate articles.

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. This interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of alternative viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Index to nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals newspapers and magazines.
Coverage: 1991 - present.
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Full-text database is a great source for interdisciplinary topics. Scholarly and popular sources are included. Coverage 1980 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text journal archive. Includes journals from many different subject areas including a subset they call "Feminist and Women's Studies."
Coverage: Dates of coverage vary but each title includes all years of publication except for the most recent 5 years.
PAIS This link opens in a new window
Index to international political science and policy studies. Coverage: 1977 - present.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal collection. Includes many women's and gender studies titles.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes references to scholarly journal articles and periodicals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers, with some full text and links to full text.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Use to locate original, peer-reviewed research in all areas of psychology. Strong for studies on gender, sex, and sex roles from a historical perspective. Coverage: 1806 - present.