UVM Libraries Research Guides: Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies: Getting Started

Core Reference Works

Use reference works to generate ideas for projects; learn about key concepts and people; and to identify books and articles for further reading.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Call Number: HQ 1115 .E54 2009 (Howe Library Reference)
Publication Date: 2009
A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. 2 volume encyclopedia on gender in society. Over 400 entries on topics that include: Genderqueer, Intersectionality, Butch/Femme, Transgender Studies, Drag Kings, and more. Online preview is available via Google Books
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Call Number: HQ 16 .E54 2007 (Howe Library Reference)
Publication Date: 2007
4 volume encyclopedia edited by Fedwa Malti-Douglas. Broad coverage that includes both a historical and global perspective.
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender by Judith Worell (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1115 .E53 2003 (Howe Library Reference)
Publication Date: 2001
This work discusses psychological differences in personality, cognition and behavior as well as biologically based differences between the sexes and how they impact on behaviour.
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by Howard Chiang
Call Number: HQ73 .G56 2019 (Howe Library Reference)
ISBN: 9780684325538
Publication Date: 2019
A three-volume set, The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History provides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women
Call Number: HQ 1115 .R69 2000 (Reference)
4 volume encyclopedia covering Women's Studies from an international perspective. Wide variety of entries each identifying key ideas and providing resources for further research.
Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Abbie E. Goldberg (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
This online encyclopedia provides interdisciplinary perspective on LGBTQ lives and issues.

Additional Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
Call Number: HQ 76.3 .U5 L43 2004 (Reference)
3 volume encyclopedia covers all periods of US history. Significant people, concepts, movements, and events are all included.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
Call Number: HQ 16 .E53 2003 (Reference)
Gay Histories and Cultures
Call Number: HQ 75.13 .G37 2000 (Reference)
Preview in Library Catalog/Google Books.
Lesbian Histories and Cultures
Call Number: HQ 75.5 .L4395 2000 (Reference)
Preview available through Library Catalog/Google Books.