Reference and Books - BIOL 1020: LASP Human Evolution - Bishop (Fall 2024) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Search Our Collections

CATQuest is our library's discovery tool, which searches both our library catalog (books, journals by title, DVDs) and also a large selection of our databases (scholarly articles across multiple disciplines).

Having trouble finding what you're looking for? Contact your librarian, Christie Silkotch, at christie.silkotch@uvm.edu.

TIP: Limit to "UVM Libraries Catalog" with the filter on the left-hand side of the screen to see only books and other items in the Libraries (and exclude article content).

Reference (Background) Sources

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution
Call Number: GN281 .C345 1992
Location: Howe Library, 1st floor, Reference check status

Current Topics in Developmental Biology This link opens in a new window
This resource contains surveys of major topics in the field of developmental biology. It provides in-depth reviews of cellular and molecular mechanisms in animal and plant development. Each volume has a central theme (e.g., hox genes, notch signaling, myogenesis, microRNAs, gametogenesis, epigenetics, stem cells, etc.) and comprises scholarly chapters written by researchers in the field.

Darwin's universe : evolution from A to Z
Call Number: QUARTO QH360.2 .M55 2009
Location: Howe Library, 3rd floor check status
Encyclopedia of Evolution
Call Number: REF QH360.2 .E54 2002
Location: Howe Library, 1st floor check status
Covers the essentials of evolutionary biology in 370 original articles written by leading experts. The articles cover basic concepts and theories; models, methods, and findings; schools of thought; controversies; biographies; and more.

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
Considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.

Oxford Dictionary of Biology
Call Number: eBook

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to an extensive set of dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press, spanning a variety of different subject areas.

Selected Books

Altered earth : getting the anthropocene right
Call Number: GF75 .A58 2022
Location: Howe Library, 3rd floor check status
The artificial ape : how technology changed the course of human evolution
Call Number: GN281 .T39 2010
Location: Howe Library, 3rd floor check status
Archaeologist Timothy Taylor proposes that it was our early adoption of tools, objects, and, now, technology that changed us, demonstrating how: baby slings made out of animal fur freed up our arms up to use tools; clothes kept us warm, reducing our need for body hair; shelter protected us from the elements and led our bodies to become slighter and physically weaker. Drawing on the fossil evidence, Taylor shows how humans made choices that assumed greater control over their own evolution.
Future humans : inside the science of our continuing evolution
Call Number: GN281.4 .S65 2016
Location: Howe Library, 3rd floor check status
How will modernization--including longer lifespans, changing diets, global travel, and widespread use of medicine and contraceptives--affect our evolutionary future? [...] Surprising insights, on topics ranging from the rise of online dating and Cesarean sections to the spread of diseases such as HIV and Ebola, suggest that we are entering a new phase in human evolutionary history--one that makes the future less predictable and more interesting than ever before.
Human Ecology: biocultural adaptations in human communities
Call Number: eBook
This book explores the relationship between cultural strategies and their biological outcomes, combining for the first time an ecosystems approach with cultural anthropological, archaeological and evolutionary behavioral concepts.
Ingenious : the unintended consequences of human innovation
Call Number: GN281.4 .G58 2019
Location: Howe Library, 3rd floor check status
As humans evolved, we developed technologies to modify our environment, yet these innovations are increasingly affecting our behavior, biology, and society. [...] Focusing on immediate benefits, we rarely pause to consider the longer-term costs of innovation. Yet we are now starting to see how our choices affect the way our brains develop and our bodies function.
Rethinking Human Evolution
Call Number: eBook
Contributors from a range of disciplines consider the disconnect between human evolutionary studies and the rest of evolutionary biology.
The secret of our success : how culture is driving human evolution, domesticating our species, and making us smarter
Call Number: GN281.4 .H46 2015
Location: Howe Library, 3rd floor check status
Drawing insights from lost European explorers, clever chimpanzees, mobile hunter-gatherers, neuroscientific findings, ancient bones, and the human genome, Joseph Henrich demonstrates how our collective brains have propelled our species' genetic evolution and shaped our biology.