Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Vermont Performing Arts

A guide to resources on Vermont performing arts (dance, music and theater) in Silver Special Collections.

Papers of Theater Companies, Performance Series and Academic Programs

Bread and Puppet Theater Collection

Content: The collection contains a wide variety of materials covering the years from the theater's founding in 1962 to 1985, including correspondence about productions, articles and reviews, flyers and advertisements, financial records, and photographs.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

Champlain Shakespeare Festival

Content: From 1959-1989, the Champlain Shakespeare Festival gave young actors experience in classical theater. Supported by the University of Vermont, the festival offered diverse audiences three plays per season. The collection includes programs, reviews, cast lists, crew assignments and rehearsal schedules, play summaries, posters, and publicity photos.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: The collection has not been processed. It is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

City Company

Content: City Company presented plays in Burlington, Vermont from 1975-1979. The collection contains scripts, rehearsal schedules, casting and auditions, directions, publicity and photos, board meeting minutes, financial information and budgets, audio tapes of performances, and company newsletters.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: The collection has not been processed. It is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

Essex Community Players

Content: Essex Community Players, founded in 1958 as the Essex Players, presents drama, comedy and musicals in Essex, Vermont. The collection, on loan from the Players, consists of business records, although some correspondence, programs, a ledger, and membership lists are included.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

Lyric Theater Records

Content: The Lyric Theater has been presenting musical theater in Burlington since 1974. The collection includes financial records and programs.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

Neighbors Club and Shakespeare Club

Content: The Shakespeare Club, later the Neighbors Club, was founded in1869 "to promote social intercourse, and provide intellectual entertainment" in the form of staged readings of abridged versions of Shakespeare's plays. The collection includes record books, membership lists, meeting records, programs or playbills for readings, member booklets, and a organizational history..
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

University of Vermont, George B. Lane Series

Content: The Lane Series at the University of Vermont has been presenting live performing arts--music, theater, film, dance--at UVM since 1955. The collection includes programs and press clippings.
Finding aid: Available in Special Collections.
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: The collection has not been processed. It is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

University of Vermont, Academic and Extracurricular Theater

To find records of and information about the academic theater program (first housed in the Department of Speech, later Communication and Theatre, then Theatre, and now Theatre and Dance)  and extracurricular student theater groups (including the Histrionics Club, Masque and Sandal, Wig and Buskin, Dramatic Club, and University Players), contact Special Collections.

Books and More

The Vermont Research Collection includes books and other materials about  Vermont theater history, productions, programs, companies, and venues. Some scripts and many advertisements are included in the collection. To find them, search the library catalog. Tip: Limit your search results by selecting "Special Collections" under Library Locations on the left.

Vermont Theater History. UVM Professor George Bryan and others collected research material on Vermont theater history which is now part of the George Bryan Papers. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

Photograph Collections

Edward Thayer Monroe Collection

Content: Edward Thayer Monroe (1890-1974) was a New York portrait photographer know for his photographs of stage and film personalities. The collection consists of prints of Monroe's photographs of famous theatrical and film personalities, and a slide collection of his photographs from a posthumous exhibit.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: The collection has not been processed. It is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.