Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Vermont Performing Arts

A guide to resources on Vermont performing arts (dance, music and theater) in Silver Special Collections.

Papers of Dancers and Dance Organizations

L. Tarin Chaplin Papers

Content: L. Tarin Chaplin directed dance programs at Goddard and Middlebury Colleges, participated in residencies and international dance projects, and  worked as a movement therapist. Later in her career, Chaplin became known for her site specific performances, many in Vermont. The collections includes her teaching files, choreographic files, writings, and  video and audio recordings. The bulk of the materials are from 1974-2005.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

Hannah Dennison Collection

Content: The collection documents the professional career of artistic director Hannah Dennison (1947-), including the activities of Elder Dance, Working Ground and Cradle to Grave Arts, an arts and education organization focused on dance. It includes materials related to creation and performance of numerous stage productions and site-specific projects.
Finding aid: Available in Special Collections; consult librarian.
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

Polly Nulty Papers

Content: This collection contains the papers of Burlington performer and business owner Polly Nulty and consists predominantly of photographs, newspaper clippings, and playbills covering the Polly Nulty Dance Studio and Lyric Theatre, Inc.
Finding aid: Available in Special Collections; consult librarian.
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

Sharry Underwood Papers

Content: Sharry Underwood (1922-) is a dancer, artistic director, choreographer, writer and dance critic who moved to Vermont in 1952. The collection contains clippings and magazines with her articles and dance reviews, video recordings and photographs of dances she performed or choreographed, programs and flyers of dance performances in Vermont and elsewhere, and some correspondence.
Finding aid: Not yet available.
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection has not been processed. It is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

University of Vermont, George B. Lane Series

Content: The Lane Series at the University of Vermont has been presenting live performing arts--music, theater, film, dance--at UVM since 1955. The collection includes programs and press clippings.
Finding aid: Available in Special Collections.
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: The collection has not been processed. It is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.

University of Vermont, Kake Walk

Content: Material about Kake Walk, a former University of Vermont tradition, can be found in multiple record groups in the University Archives.
Finding aid: To identify Kake Walk material, go to the University Archives Finding Aids and search for "Kake Walk."
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Material is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.
Digital collection A digital collection contains selected records from the University Archives such as event invitations, recruitment flyers, documentation of ticket requests, press releases, financial records, committee minutes, director's reports, and examples of correspondence from alumni and community members responding to the discontinuation of Kake Walk.

University of Vermont, Academic and Extracurricular Dance Programs

To find records of and information about academic programs and extracurricular dance activities, consult Special Collections.

Books and More

The Vermont Research Collection includes books and other materials about dance and dancers in Vermont, including the dance programs at Middlebury and Bennington Colleges, country dancing, and advertisements for community dances and dance performances. To find them, search the library catalog. Tip: Limit your search results by selecting "Special Collections" under Library Locations on the left.

Photograph Collections

L. L. McAllister Photographs

Summary: Burlington photographer Louis L. McAllister photographed many groups of dancers during the course of his career, including the Polly Nulty School of Dance, Sousie School of Dance, and dance programs at summer camps.
Finding Aid
Location: Prints are in the Library Research Annex. Digital collection available.
Notes on use: Prints are stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.