Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

OverDrive

Get Help

Need help with OverDrive or requesting books?

Contact Howe.Acquisitions@uvm.edu

Overdrive at UVM

What is it?

OverDrive logo OverDrive is an e-book and audiobook provider that is now available to UVM Libraries. You can find its books via the library catalog or read them online, but its best reading experience is through its app, Libby.

How do you read or listen to its books?

Libby app image

Get Libby

The Libby app is available for Android, iOS and Windows devices. It will allow you to borrow and download books to read or listen to offline. If you prefer reading on your Kindle Fire, Libby can send your library books to it.

or,

Read Online

Access UVM's Overdrive collection through the library catalog, CatQuest, or directly here

What can you get?

Audiobooks, classic novels, popular novels, nonfiction, scholarly books, etc.

How can you request more from OverDrive?

Make a typical library request and ask specifically for an OverDrive book or audiobook. 

OR,

  • Visit the UVM Overdrive Collection, and run a search for your desired book. 
  • If we don't have it, you will see search results for un-owned books at the very bottom of the results page, under the heading Didn't find what you're looking for?
  • If one of those is your desired book, click the Recommend to Library button. 

Note:

The Libraries will only buy books for Overdrive if they meet our collections development guidelines for this collection.  If the Library already has the book in print or on another platform, it will not duplicate the book on Overdrive unless there are special circumstances. If the Libraries can get the book in the same format requested more cheaply elsewhere, they may choose to do so.

How does it connect to your public library?

You can also use Libby to access the OverDrive collections of any other library to which you belong. Most public libraries in Vermont and beyond have OverDrive accounts, including Fletcher Free Library.

Fletcher Free Library is in Burlington and will give UVM students or employees membership regardless of residency.

Get the Libby App

Libby app image

The app is available for Android, iOS and Windows devices. If you prefer reading on your Kindle Fire, Libby can send your library books to it.

iOS App Store

Android

Kindle Fire

Set up Libby

You'll only have to follow all of these steps the first time you use the app.

  1. Download the app.
    1. If you already have the app and an account at another library, you'll just need to add University of Vermont to your library list.
    2. You can do this by clicking the green circle at the bottom center of the Libby app screen
  2. Open the Libby app
  3. It will ask if you have a library card. Click Yes.


     
  4. Search for University of Vermont in the Search for Libraries option


     
  5. Click Sign in with Your Card
  6. It will take you to your usual NetId sign in page for the library
  7. It will create a virtual Overdrive library card for you, and you will now have access to our collection


     
  8. Use Libby to browse for eBooks, check them out, place holds or add to your wish list

Check Out UVM Overdrive eBooks in Libby

You will only need to establish your library connection to UVM the first time you use Libby. For every search thereafter, you will be able to immediately search within our collections and access our books.

  1. Sign in to your University of Vermont Libby account
  2. Use the search box or browse for a title through our collections
    • The University of Vermont library card icon to the right of a title indicates that it is in our collection and will allow you to borrow or place a hold on it.
  3. Select the title of the eBook or audiobook you’d like to borrow.


     
  4. On the title page, select the “Borrow” button.


     
  5. Once the loan is complete, Libby will show your loan period and you can open the eBook or audiobook from this page.


     
  6. You can also access your loans by selecting the “Shelf” icon at the bottom of the Libby app. From here, you can open your loaned eBook/audiobooks, manage your loans, and view the due date.



 

Public Library Books

Many public libraries, and most of those in Vermont, have OverDrive e-books available for members. Join your local public libraries and find them here. 

You can add all of your library memberships to the same Libby app.

Every student and employee at UVM is also entitled to a library card from the Fletcher Free Library, which will give you access to Vermont's Green Mountain Library Consortium's much larger Overdrive collection. 

Add your Public Library

  1. Use the center menu icon at the bottom of the Libby app to view and manage your library cards.
  2. Select the “Add Library” link to add a new one.


     
  3. Search for your public library’s branch name and select the correct library under the “Matching Libraries” search results.


     
  4. Once on your public library’s Libby page, select the link for “Sign In With My Card”.


     
  5. Enter your public library card number.


     
  6. Once you have signed-in with your public library card, the account will be added to your Libby app and you can access that library’s collection.
  7. Now, when you access the menu icon in your Libby app, you will see both the University of Vermont Library and your added public library.
    • Select whichever library whose collection you would like to access.


       

Switch between Libraries

  1. Click the menu icon in your Libby app
  2. You will see both the University of Vermont Library and all of your other public library affiliations
  3. Select whichever library whose collection you would like to access


     
  4. You can have books checked out in Libby from multiple libraries at once

Join Fletcher Free Library in Burlington

Every student and employee at UVM is also entitled to a library card from the Fletcher Free Library, which will give you access to Vermont's Green Mountain Library Consortium's much larger Overdrive collection. 

Fletcher Free Library's main branch is just down the street from UVM, at 235 College Street, Burlington, VT 05401

Visit Fletcher Free Library online here to sign up for a library card, and then visit it in person to pick it up. 

Fletcher Free Library Information

Fletcher Free Library Home

Use Fletcher Free Library

Fletcher Free Library Catalog

Get help from UVM Libraries

Need help using Overdrive or requesting new books?

Contact Howe Library Collections Development & Acquisitions here

Get help from Overdrive

Get help with Libby

Get help with Overdrive

Request new books or audiobooks

Yes, UVMMC is eligible to join UVM's Overdrive

Every employee at UVM Medical Center is also entitled to create a UVM Overdrive account. 

  • UVMMC empoyees with UVM Netids can create one using the instructions on the first page of this guide
  • UVMMC employees without UVM Netids can create one by contacting UVM Libraries and requesting to have an account manually created. You will need a current UVMMC email address.
    • This process is in progress. You can submit a request and we will add you to the waiting list to have your account established.