UVM Libraries Research Guides: Book Reviews: Contemporary : from 2000-

Contemporary : from 2000-

Book Review Digest
Call Number: REF Z 1219 .C95 Holdings: 1905-2014/2015 (Ref Collection-1st floor)
[Full-Text (excerpts)].Cites and excerpts reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for adults and children. Includes only reviews that have appeared within 18 months of the book's publication.

Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text and Citations]. Reviews for adult and children's books from popular, trade, refereed, and scholarly publications. Coverage is more extensive than Book Review Digest. Coverage: 1965-present.

New York Review of Books
[Full-Text]. Full-text book reviews and articles, 1963-present.

London Review of Books
[Full-Text]. Howe Library Microfilm (2nd Floor): 1979-2015. Print format (2nd Floor): current year only retained.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text and Citations]. Popular magazines, scholarly journals, and selected newspapers, including the New York Times. Substantive coverage: late 1970s-present, date varies by publication. To find book reviews: enter search terms; in the "Document Type" category, select "Book Review" from the list.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text and Citations]. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources. Substantive coverage: 1980s-present, date varies by publication. To find book reviews: enter search terms; in the "Document type" category, select "Review" from the list. If you want book reviews from journals and magazines only, in the "Source type" category, select "Magazines" and "Scholarly Journals."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text]. Full-text electronic core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences back to the 19th century. Provides access to back issues of journals, not current issues (i.e., last 2-5 years). To find book reviews: enter search terms; in the NARROW BY "Item Type" category, click in the box to the left of "Reviews."
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text]. This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary full-text database of scholarly journals primarily in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It also provides citations to books provided by Project Muse in digital format. Issues published prior to the last 15-20 years are generally not covered. To find book reviews: after you perform a search and are viewing the results list, in the left sidebar, tick the box "Reviews" in the Journals category.
Gale Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text and Citations]. Popular magazines, scholarly journals, and selected newspapers, including the New York Times. Coverage: 1980-present, date varies by publication. To find book reviews: enter search terms; in the "by document type" category, select "Book Review" from the list.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text and Citations]. This multidisciplinary resource contains newspapers, journals, and other general-interest media sources, including the New York Times and NPR transcripts. Date coverage: 1980-present. To limit a search to book reviews, enter search terms; in the "by document type" category, select "Book Review" from the list.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly book reviews in key journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, through:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index. Coverage: 1982-present. To find book reviews: after you perform a search and are viewing the results list, in the left sidebar, in the "Document Types" category, tick the box "Book Review."

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Call Number: REF Z 1219 .R48 Holdings: 1982-present (Ref Collection-1st floor)
[Citations]. Indexes the most popular general-interest magazines published in the United States.

Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text]. This resource provides authoritative full-text reviews of academic books and digital resources of interest to scholars and students in higher education. Coverage from late 1980s to the present.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text]. This resource gives researchers full-text access to 280+ alternative, independent, and grassroots-supported newspapers, journals, and magazines. These publications cover local, national, and international news and issues with a critical view that contrasts with coverage in corporate-owned media. Date coverage generally 1990-present. To limit a search to reviews, enter search terms; in the "Document type" category, select "Review" from the list.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text]. This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People. Date coverage 1959-present. To limit a search to reviews, enter search terms; in the "Document type" category, select "Review" from the list.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text]. This resource is a searchable database of cover-to-cover, full-text content of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS) since 1902. Previous 5 years unavailable. To limit a search to reviews, enter search terms; in the "by document type" category, select "Review" from the list.
CATQuest This link opens in a new window
[Full-Text and Citations]. This resource is a unique tool that provides access to a wide variety of research materials, including those held by the UVM Libraries; use it to locate books, book reviews,articles, government publications, films, music, images, archival materials, and more. Sign In to access all the content in this resource.

Arts & Letters Daily
[Full-Text]. Free web, from The Chronicle of Higher Education

Book Review Aggregator (Contemporary Fiction & Nonfiction)

Book Marks
Part of the "Literary Hub" website, this site tracks the most important and active outlets of literary journalism in the US—from established national broadsheets to regional weeklies and alternative litblogs—and logs their book reviews. When a book is reviewed by at least three outlets, each of those reviews is assigned an individual rating (Rave, Positive, Mixed or Pan). These ratings are then averaged into a result and the book becomes part of the Book Marks database. In most cases, there are links to the original reviews.