UVM Libraries Research Guides: Writing Studies Resources: Home

Selected Journals

Information on specific journals devoted to the teaching of writing.

College Composition and Communication
UVM has access to this journal from 1950 forward. The most recent issues are available via the ProQuest access point.

College English
UVM has access to issues of College English since 1939. Early years are in print and online while more recent are online only. Note that the most recent issues will be available via the ProQuest access point not the NCTE access point.

EDUCAUSE
This journal and web site provides access to all areas of pedagogy in higher education.

JAC (Journal of Advanced Composition)
UVM has online access to JAC (known as Journal of Advanced Composition until 1994) 1980 until 2014 (this is a rolling end date). Articles from recent issues will have to ordered via Interlibrary Loan.

Rhetoric Review
UVM has online access to Rhetoric Review starting with issues from 1982 through the present.

More...

Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC) Journals
The WAC publishes several Open-Access journals on issues related to the teaching of writing. These include: Across the Disciplines, The WAC Journal, and The Journal of Basic Writing.

See also the Council on Writing Program Administrators listing on Journals in Rhetoric & Composition

Article Databases & More

Articles on topics related to composition will largely come from the field of composition studies but the literature of other disciplines will often also include material on teaching writing in that discipline. Likewise the literature of Education will broadly address issues about teaching and learning.

CATQuest This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to a wide variety of research materials from the UVM Libraries. Use it to locate books, articles, government publications, films, music, images, archival materials, and more.

CompPile
Database providing information about published materials on the field of post-secondary composition that is maintained by the WAC Clearinghouse. You will have to search for materials cited here in UVM resources and beyond.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
This resource is the preferred search tool in the field of education. It contains scholarly and practitioner-oriented articles in peer-reviewed and other journals, papers given at conferences, and scholarly reports in education and the behavioral sciences. It provides citation records, as well as a large amount of full-text content. Access for non-UVM affiliates @ eric.ed.gov.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. It also provides citations to books and pamphlets provided by JSTOR in digital format.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive index for research works on world literatures, literary theory, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and the dramatic arts. It contains citations (some with links to full text) to articles in scholarly journals and magazines, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
This resource is a database of international scholarly research as presented in theses and dissertations from institutions of higher education.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This resource contains international scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and the social, behavioral and health sciences. It is an excellent place to search for topics related to cognition.

Finding Books at UVM and Beyond

Use these tools to search for books in the UVM Library Collections. Can also be used to identify what magazine and newspapers the library has. Both materials in all formats, print, online, microfilm, and more.

CATQuest
Use CATQuest to locate books, articles, and other materials at UVM and beyond. After running a search, use the options on the left to narrow your search and the limiters just above to limit even farther. Sign in for all options and content.
Classic UVM Library Catalog
Use the Quick Search to look for an exact title or an author. Use the Guided Keyword Search to look for books on a topic.
Remember you cannot look for article titles in the Classic Library Catalog.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable database of library collections across the United States, Canada and many other countries. Well over a billion records describe books, multimedia, serials, maps, and other information resources. Materials identified through WorldCat can be ordered through UVM's Interlibrary Loan Service.

Citation Management

Easily save citations from library databases or the web by clicking on an icon in the address bar of your browser. Cite while you write capability with Microsoft Word (additional download). Zotero is installed on computers in the Reference area.

Librarian

Daisy Benson

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

David W. Howe Memorial Library, Room 100
daisy.benson@uvm.edu

Subjects: Art & Art History, Classics, Dance, Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies, History, Holocaust Studies, Linguistics, Theatre, World Languages & Culture