UVM Libraries Research Guides: Materials Science: Research Literature

Research Literature: Overview

UVM Libraries subscribes to multiple databases related to materials science. These databases contain a variety of types of information including journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, technical reports, and dissertations. Search the databases below for literature about your specific research interest.

Having trouble finding what you're looking for? Contact your librarians for assistance with searching the literature.

Primary Databases

Compendex This link opens in a new window
This resource is one of the largest and broadest databases covering all areas of engineering. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, trade magazine articles and conference papers. Records have links to citation data and full-text holdings.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
This resource covers international literature in the fields of electrical engineering, physics, and computer science. It provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, book reports and dissertations.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This database produced by Chemical Abstracts Services, provides comprehensive coverage of chemical information, including chemical substances, references, reactions, chemical supplier, and regulated chemicals. Scholarly content includes journals, patents, books, theses, and conference proceedings.
In order to use SciFinder Scholar you must first register for a personal account (only UVM affiliates are eligible for an account). You will need this personal account information to login to the database each time you use it.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.

Additional Databases

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
This resource searches Beilstein (organic chemistry), Gmelin (inorganic and organometallic chemistry) and patent chemistry databases. It contains scholarly literature, compound properties, patents, and chemical reaction data.

Find Journals

Journal Search
Click here to search journals available via UVM Libraries by title or subject.

Working Off-Campus?

To access UVM Libraries databases and subscription content from a non-campus network:

Virtual Private Network (VPN)
The most reliable way to access resources from off-campus. Install software that allows you to login with your UVM NetID and password.
EZProxy
Easiest off-campus access method, but does not work with all of our resources. Simply login with your NetID and password.

Find It@UVM

Some databases have the full text of an article; otherwise, look for the Find it@UVM button.

Use this button to:

1) Search the Libraries' collections for the full-text version of an article, online or in print.
2) Submit an interlibrary loan request when we do not have the full-text version.