Reference (Background) - HCOL 186A: Biology of Symbiosis - Wittman (Spring 2021) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

About This Page

The following is a list of general library resources to get you started in your research. This is only a sampling of what the library has available. Library resources contain content like articles and ebooks that are behind UVM's subscription, so connect via a UVM network or login to access them.

Having trouble finding what you're looking for? Contact your librarian, Christie Silkotch, at christine.silkotch@uvm.edu.

Selected Reference Sources

Current Topics in Developmental Biology This link opens in a new window
This resource contains surveys of major topics in the field of developmental biology. It provides in-depth reviews of cellular and molecular mechanisms in animal and plant development. Each volume has a central theme (e.g., hox genes, notch signaling, myogenesis, microRNAs, gametogenesis, epigenetics, stem cells, etc.) and comprises scholarly chapters written by researchers in the field.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Based on the 17-volume print encyclopedia, this resource features information on more than 4,000 species, presented with more than 12,000 photos, maps, videos, audio clips, and interactive tools. Articles written by scientists and subject experts are peer reviewed and selected by an expert editorial board. Entries can be translated to many languages and text-to-speech.
Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia. Evolution. This link opens in a new window
This resource features encyclopedia entries focused on evolution, supported by subject specialists and peer-reviewed by an editor and editorial board comprising of evolution experts. This is a supplement to Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia (2003), and compliments a companion volume, Extinction (2013).

Oxford Dictionary of Biology
Call Number: eBook
Oxford Dictionary of Zoology
Call Number: eBook

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains the selected Oxford titles listed on this page, plus MANY MORE! Access to an extensive set of dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press, spanning a variety of different subject areas.

Oxford Dictionary of Ecology
Call Number: ONLINE

Working Off Campus?

Log into EZproxy using your UVM NetID and password to access UVM Libraries' electronic resources, including databases, full-text journal articles, e-books, and more.