Find Articles - GEOL 135: Environmental Geochemistry - Perdrial (Fall 2022) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, symposia, workshops, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work. *Allows filtering for review articles*

Subject-Specific Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
This resource, created by the National Agricultural Library, provides comprehensive access to U.S. agricultural and life science information, including journal articles, books chapters, monographs, theses, patents, and technical reports. AGRICOLA covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary compendium of databases that covers broadly: agriculture, environmental sciences, pollution, energy, ecology, air and water quality, and other environmentally related topics. It includes references to journal articles, reports, books, conference proceedings and government publications. It contains citations with abstracts and some links to full text.
CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This resource covers international applied life and environmental sciences literature, including journal articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, newsletters, reports, and gray literature. It has strong international coverage. Our subscription includes CAB Abstracts, CABI Full Text, and Global Health; apply the "Only Content I Have Access To" filter to eliminate results that we don't have access to.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource references journal and periodical articles, conference papers, and monographs in broad areas related to the environment, including but not limited to: ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution, law, policy, social and human impacts, and planning. It includes some full text and links to full text.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the fields of physical and cultural geography, earth sciences, ecology and natural resources, as well as international development-related topics. Coverage includes scholarly journal literature, magazine articles, product reviews, directories, conference proceedings, and reports. It includes bibliographic citations with abstracts and links to full-text articles.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the geoscience literature of the world, including coverage of scholarly journal literature, books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses, and dissertations. It includes bibliographic citations with abstracts, and links to full-text articles.

Finding Articles from Citations

The quick and easy, but not exhaustive, way to check if we have access to an article is to copy/paste the title into the CATQuest search bar from the library website. If you find it, great! If not, proceed to the links below.

Find Journals
First, search by journal title to see if UVM Libraries subscribes. Click on the relevant result to see the location and dates of access.
Interlibrary Loan
If we don't have access via the "Find Journals" link above, you can place an interlibrary loan request. This service will deliver you an electronic copy of the item for free.

Related Guides

Working Off Campus?

To access UVM Libraries databases and subscription content from a non-campus network, simply use the links on research guides or the library website. You will automatically be asked to login with your NetID and password if you aren't already logged in in another tab.

If you ever have trouble or aren't sure if you're logged in, you can manually log in here.

Still having trouble? Ask us.