Articles - ENGS 107: Rhetorics of Food - Miles (Fall 2020) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Find Articles in Scholarly Journals and Magazines

Truncation (aka Wildcard)
more...less...
Symbol used at the end of a word or rootword to retrieve variant word endings, including plurals; makes a search more efficient by decreasing the number of searches. e.g., feminis* retrieves: feminism, feminist, feminists
Many databases use * as the truncation symbol.

NOTE: for these databases (except LexisNexis), the truncation (aka wildcard) symbol is *

An index (e.g., article database) will enable you to identify articles published in periodicals and/or newspapers. For the most wide-ranging picture of how your topic was covered in the periodical press, you will want to make use of both multidisciplinary and subject indexes in conjunction with one another.

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM article databases, watch for this icon:

Use this button to help you:

link directly to the article, or
link to the journal's homepage, or
determine whether the library has that journal and year in print format, or
link to a search of the Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
link to an interlibrary loan (ILL) form

Journals (online and print)

Journal Titles provided by UVM Libraries

NOTE: UVM Libraries still owns many print journals

Tip!

The Library does Not own every journal-or book-accessed through these databases. Use Interlibrary Loan (free!) to request books, and copies of articles or book chapters needed.

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People.

Subject-Specific Article Databases

To find subject-specific article databases and other electronic sources, go to Articles & More. Then on the right of the screen, click the box "Browse by Subject" where a list of subjects will appear. Here are just a few of the article databases you will see in the subject lists:

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This resource provides information and full-text access to materials on American and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. It references materials published since 1964 and includes journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, and more.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to scholarly articles on all aspects of world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from the 14th century to the present.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to health and health-related information from journal articles, magazine articles, reference resources, book chapters, newsletters, pamphlets, drug and herbal remedy information, and multimedia sources.