Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Debate Team: A Library Research Guide (Morgan-Parmett)

Welcome to the Library!

This guide is designed to serve as a resource for your debate research. You may access the electronic resources from off-campus as long as you are connected to the UVM network. Please do not hesitate to confer with a librarian to help you find materials and/or discuss search strategies for your specific topic, at any stage of the research process.

Getting Research Help in Spring 2021

There are a variety of ways to get help remotely from the Howe Library reference librarians during this time. Please ask us!  Use the "Ask a Librarian" service.

Ask A Librarian connects you with librarians in a variety of different ways

Email: howeref@uvm.edu

Chat
Note: If you see a message that says "chat unavailable" during chat "open hours," try refreshing your browser. It may be that two librarians are switching off with one another.

Schedule a Research Consultation that takes place through Teams

Text: (802) 503-1703

Searching Off-Campus?

Before you begin your research you should connect to the UVM network. This enables you to access and use all the electronic resources licensed by the UVM Libraries, such as article databases, e-books, streaming media collections, etc. as well as online resources retrieved through CATQuest. Click the link below to learn how to connect to the UVM network through ezproxy or VPN (virtual private network).

What's in this Guide?

Use the tabs above or the links below to navigate through this guide.

  1. How to Do Research: Guide for debate research; Tips for all aspects of research; Help with developing keywords for a topic, using variant spellings and synonyms, creating a keyword search.
  2. Background Information: Familiarize yourself with a topic by using these online encyclopedia and dictionary/handbook collections.
  3. Opinion: Licensed databases for finding opinions and viewpoints on a variety of topics; How to find editorials in full-text licensed newspaper databases; Op-ed sources freely available on the internet.
  4. News, Magazines, and Popular Journals: Recommended individual news sources;  Licensed databases of full-text current newspaper articles; Recommended list of magazines and popular journals and how to access them.
  5. Books Useful for Debate: Recommended list of books owned by the Howe library.
  6. Article Databases: UVM-licensed databases for locating articles in scholarly journals and magazines.