Find Articles - CALS 2990: Junior Honors College Seminar - Murray (Fall 2024) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Core and Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This resource covers international applied life and environmental sciences literature, including journal articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, newsletters, reports, and gray literature. It has strong international coverage. Our subscription includes CAB Abstracts, CABI Full Text, and Global Health; apply the "Only Content I Have Access To" filter to eliminate results that we don't have access to.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This free resource comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.

Additional Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
This resource, created by the National Agricultural Library, provides comprehensive access to U.S. agricultural and life science information, including journal articles, books chapters, monographs, theses, patents, and technical reports. AGRICOLA covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Biological & Agricultural Index This link opens in a new window
This resource provides comprehensive coverage to scholarly literature and popular press in the biological and agricultural sciences, including agricultural industry, environmental science, veterinary science, and wildlife management.
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) This link opens in a new window
This resource contains journal literature in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical microbiology, including topics such as fermentation, plant diseases, microbial toxins, soil microorganisms, and more. It indexes journals, as well as government reports, books, and conference proceedings. It is now part of the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database.

PubAg
Database of citations to nutrition and agricultural journal articles. Many citations link to full text. If no full text is linked, search for the article in CATQuest, or ask for it through interlibrary loan.

Search by Magazine or Journal Title

Find Journals
Search by journal title to see if UVM Libraries subscribes

Other Research Guides

Howe Library Research Guides A-Z
Check out other research guides by subject area to discover additional resources. (For instance, if your topic might have overlap with biology, education, psychology...)
Dana Health Sciences Library Research Guides A-Z
Check out other research guides by subject area to discover additional resources. (For instance, if your topic might have overlap with health sciences, biochemistry, or public health...)

Learn More

The below tutorials have been created to teach you about using and navigating library resources:

Finding Articles
This guide will help you choose the right tool for your research, according to the material you need and where you are in the research process. You will also learn simple and advanced techniques for using these tools effectively.
Reading and Working with Citations
Find out how to interpret the bibliographies attached to materials you you've already found and use them to find more information.

Checking for Full Text

Look for a PDF, HTML, or other "Full Text" link/icon
Not there? Look for and click the Find It @ UVM button
No button? Copy and paste the article title (and an author last name if the title is very broad or short) into Google Scholar
Still can't find it? Place an interlibrary loan request

Working Off Campus?

Using these links will prompt you to log in with your UVM NetID and password to access UVM Libraries' electronic resources, including databases, full-text journal articles, e-books, and more.

Having trouble? Contact Christie.