UVM Libraries Research Guides: Global Health Resources: Research Databases

Notice: Changes in Acess to Clinical Key

As of October 22, 2021, ClinicalKey, a large collection of biomedical books and journals, is no longer available to the UVM community. UVM's medical librarians are working to identify alternate resources. We are also working to identify essential reference and research tools that meet some of the needs previously served by ClinicalKey.

The UVM Libraries remain committed to obtaining the articles you need. Some of the content lost in the subscription cancellation can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary loan requests will remain free of charge to UVM students, faculty, and staff. You can also use the Libraries’ Recommend a Purchase service to request that we purchase a book or journal.

Further information is available on our website.

Research Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
This free resource comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Global Health This link opens in a new window
This resource broadly covers international and community-level scholarly literature in public health, including rural development and health policy. Content includes journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, newsletters, reports, and gray literature.
CINAHL complete This link opens in a new window
This resource provides bibliographic records, some with links to full text, for the research and professional literature in nursing and other allied health fields such as physical therapy and athletic training.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, symposia, workshops, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types.

Other Databases

Ethnomed
- http://ethnomed.org/
- Provides information on cross-cultural issues for recent immigrants. Includes collection of patient information sheets on general clinical topics such as cancer, HIV/AIDS, mental health, etc. in 10 languages.
Global Index Medicus
- https://www.globalindexmedicus.net/
- Provides access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low and middle income countries. Produced by WHO.
The Lancet Global Health Portal
- http://www.thelancet.com/global-health
- Dashboard provides direct access to reports, audio, video, and graphics from The Lancet.
Kaiser Family Foundation – Global Health Policy
- https://www.kff.org/global-health-policy/
- Provides latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health. Good source of polling data, graphics, reports, etc.
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) Public Health
- http://www.scielo.org/php/index.php?lang=en
- Includes 13 million+ citations from 1,249 journals from 14 countries such as Argentina, Cuba, Portugal, and South Africa. Full text for all articles is available.
JOL: Journals Online
- https://www.inasp.info/project/journals-online-project
- Peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries. Offered through the INASP organization (International Network for Advancing Science and Policy)