UVM Libraries Research Guides: French Language & Literature: Books

Intro

In addition to using the tools listed below to locate French Language texts, you may wish to browse the French Literature section of the library:

Howe Library/ 3rd floor / call numbers starting with PQ1 - PQ 3999

CATQuest
CATQuest is a search engine that provides information about, and access to, a wide variety of research materials from the UVM Libraries including books, articles, media, and more. Search for materials and then apply limits to narrow your results.

ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
This resource is North America's largest collection of digitized resources in French. It comprises ARTFL-FRANTEXT, which indexes French texts, and more specialized collections of French women writers, Provençal poetry, ancient French texts, and historical dictionaries.
Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to millions of digitized titles that are in the public domain. Use it to locate historic or primary source materials from around the world. Use is open to everyone but UVM affiliates can log in to download texts for offline use.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable database of library collections across the United States, Canada and many other countries. Well over a billion records describe books, multimedia, serials, maps, and other information resources. Materials identified through WorldCat can be ordered through UVM's Interlibrary Loan Service.

Fiction: Using the advanced search in CATQuest include the word fiction within the Subject field in the search form provided along with other terms to describe what you are looking for. Limit results to Resource Type - Books. This will identify fictional works but not all of them due to changes in cataloging practices overtime. If desirable limit the search to works in the language French. You can also limit to French langauge materials by searching for French words in the title of books.
Literary Criticism: Using the advanced search in CATQuest include the word criticism within the Subject field in the search form provided along with other terms to describe what you are looking for. Limit results to Resource Type - Books. This will identify works of criticism. When looking for criticism also be sure to look for articles (see the articles page of this guide for more help with that).
Works in French: Using the advanced search in CATQuest limit your search to works in the Language French. You can also limit to French language materials by searching for French words in the title of books.