If you need additional help with your research for this class, please don't hesitate to contact me. We can set up a time to meet for an individual consultation, and work through all your research questions.
E-mail: laurie.kutner@uvm.edu
Here is a short list of recommended databases to help get you started on finding articles on sustainability-related topics.
= Remote access for UVM affiliates only
*** = Recommended starting point for research
AGRICOLA
Created by the National Agricultural Library , AGRICOLA is one of the most comprehensive sources of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information, and includes citations to journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, and technical reports. Coverage: 1970 - present.
Academic Search Premier ***
An interdisciplinary index to scholarly journal and magazine articles, and partially full-text database, that includes many references and articles on natural resources, ecology, and environmental topics. A highly recommended starting point for accessing journal articles on research areas focusing on sustainability. Coverage: 1970s - present.
EconLit
Index, with abstracts, to the scholarly literature in economics and reated fields. Includes references to journal articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage: 1969 - present.
Environment Complete
An index to journal articles and partially full-text database that focuses on natural resources, ecology, and environmental topics. It provides a greater depth of access to the literature in this broad area than an interdisciplinary resource such as Academic Search Premier. Coverage:1990sto present with some coverage back to 1940s.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
A compedium of different databsases that provides in-depth access to the scientific, scholarly literature in the broad area of environment/ natural resources. Coverage: 1967 - present, varies by specific database.
GEOBASE
Indexes and abstracts the literature of geography, ecology, natural resources, environment, planning, and more. Coverage 1980 - present.
Sociological Abstracts
Index, with abstracts, to the scholarly literature in sociology and related fields. Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, with links to many of the articles. Coverage: 1952 - present.
Web of Science
An interdisciplinary index to scholarly journal articles, with abstracts. It is a citation index which allows for citation searching and incorporates the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. Coverage: 1975 - present.
For a more complete list of databases to help you locate journal articles in the areas of natural resources/ environment, go to:
Library home page --> Find articles --> Browse by subject --> Environment
