Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start Finding Articles
Get to know the best starting places for finding articles
Finding Articles (tutorial)
This guide will help you choose the right tool for your research, according to the material you need and where you are in the research process. You will also learn simple and advanced techniques for using these tools effectively.
Recommended General Article Databases
Which databases should you use?
Article databases are used to locate information about and often the entire online text of articles from academic journals, trade journals, magazines, and newspapers. UVM has access to hundreds of library databases and each has slightly different content and features. The list below has been selected by librarians as the best starting places for research in many subject areas. If you still are not finding what you need consult our full list of article databases or Ask a Librarian.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Great starting point for locating articles. Covers a wide variety of subject areas. Types of publications run the spectrum from popular to scholarly. Many articles are full-text.
Truncation Symbol is: *
Know your way around a search engine? CATQuest is the library's discovery tool that incorporates results from many of our online databases. Refine your results to see what's in the location you want.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of scholarly journals in many fields including ecology, history, literature, and more. Beware, this database does not include articles published in the last 5 years.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to a variety of resources including scholarly journals, international newspapers, business information and dissertations.
See all databases
There are over 300 databases accessible through UVM Libraries. Search for a specific title, or browse or filter databases by subject or information type. Look for the blue flags that indicate best starting places.
A helpful chart to assist with brainstorming and keeping track of search terms
Need a topic? Find inspiration here.
Strategies that you can use when choosing a topic for a class project, including reviewing and understanding the assignment, and selecting a quality topic.