Most Chinese dictionaries in UVM's Howe Library have a call number beginning with PL 1455, whether they are shelved in the Reference area (REF) or on the 3rd floor in the circulating collection.
Oxford Chinese desk dictionary : English-Chinese, Chinese-English.
PL1455 .O87 2009 (Reference)
A well-designed, authoritative publication with 90,000 entries, 103,000 translations, plus a section of model letters covering a variety of business and social situations. Excellent for learners of both languages.
Ying Han da ci dian = The English-Chinese Dictionary.
PL1455 .Y6437 2007 (Reference)
Ideal for English-speaking learners of Chinese, this volume is both scholarly and comprehensive.
Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage (1972).
PL1455 .L67 (Reference)
Perhaps the most rigorously organized and therefore useful Chinese-English dictionary. An index of English words allows you to quickly find a page with the Chinese definition. Many helpful appendices.
BUSINESS DICTIONARIES
Business Chinese Dictionary : English-Chinese.
HF1002 .B88 1995 (Reference)
An English-Chinese Dictionary of Business Management.
HF1002 .Z4 2010 (Reference)
Oxford Picture Dictionary, Second Edition.
PL 1455 .S415 2009 (Reference)
This visual dictionary has over 4,000 English words and phrases with their Chinese equivalents printed in blue. Intended primarily for Chinese learners of English, it has obvious value for English-speaking learners of Chinese. Full color illustrations throughout, with vibrant depiction of English-speaking cultures.
Facts on File English/Chinese Visual Dictionary.
PL1455 .C675 1988 (Reference)
Content vocabulary is organized according to 28 themes, e.g. geography, clothing, health, measuring devices, etc., and there is a general index. Extensive tables of contents and indexes in both English and Chinese set this dictionary apart from the preceding title. Black and white illustrations.
