UVM Libraries Research Guides: Communication Sciences & Disorders: Clinical Resources

Tests & Measurements Databases

Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window Use this resource to find information on measurement instruments such as questionnaires, checklists, rating scales and tests in the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. For reviews of tests, Mental Measurements Yearbook is preferred.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window This resource includes standardized English-language tests and measurements used in education, early childhood development, reading, speech and hearing, psychology, and related fields. It contains descriptions, professional reviews, and pricing information for the tests, but due to copyright limitations, does not provide the actual test instruments.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window Published by the APA, this resource provides information on thousands of psychological, behavioral, and achievement instruments. Measures, tests and scales are included, and in some cases, the actual instrument can be viewed and downloaded.

Research Instruments: A Guide to Resources Provides information and links for over a dozen resources for finding tests & instruments.

Clinical Resources

These resources are designed for use by busy health care professionals. They serve as a source of reliable, authoritative full-text information, with references to the primary biomedical literature.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Use this resource to access key medical textbooks as well as case files, reference resources, health-related infographics, and multimedia resources.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window This resource, formally Natural Medicines, is an evidence-based, full-text resource for information about natural medicines and complementary therapies. Detailed monographs are provided for hundreds of foods, herbs, and dietary supplements, including information about their safety and effectiveness, dosing and administration, adverse effects, interactions, and references.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window This resource contains descriptions of medical diseases and disorders and is designed to be consulted by health care practitioners as they evaluate potential clinical diagnostic and treatment options. It also includes drug information, medical calculators, images, patient information in English and Spanish, continuing medical education modules, and links to full-text journal articles.

Drug Information

Drugs.com Provides hard-to-find comprehensive information on generic, OTC, and brand pharmaceuticals. Includes pill identifier, interactions checker, and text of package inserts. Contains advertising.

Merative Micromedex This link opens in a new window This resource is a collection of drug and toxicology databases, including Martindale, Material Safety Data Sheets, Physician's Desk Reference (PDR), POISONDEX, and others. Together, these provide comprehensive information about drugs, diseases, and toxicology, as well as drug interactions, IV compatibility, laboratory tests, product lookups, dosing calculators, and CareNotes for patient education.

NLM Drug Information Portal Drug information website from the US National Library of Medicine. Information is drawn from numerous sources, including PubMed Health, LactMed, MedlinePlus, Pillbox, DrugBank, and others.

Drug information can also be found in general clinical resources, such as AccessMedicine, Embase, Natural Medicines, and UpToDate.

Information for Patients

MedlinePlus is an excellent source of high-quality health-related information written for the general public. Contents are drawn from authoritative and reputable sources, and are written at a range of reading levels.

MedlinePlus: Speech and Communication Disorders