Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Research Instruments: Surveys, Questionnaires, and other Measurement Tools

For More Information

This table is based on the work of Joanne Rich and Janet Schnall at the University of Washington Health Sciences Library. See their web site for much more information on finding research instruments.

Resources: Descriptions and Search Tips

 
Resources: Descriptions and Search Tips
Sources Description Search Tips
CINAHL indexes Nursing and Allied Health literature and provides the detailed descriptions of over 350 popular instruments.

Find a Specific Test  Search by instrument name or acronym and limit to the Publication Type: Questionnaire/Scale [documents with partial or complete examples of questionnaires or scales] or Research Instrument [special CINAHL records that describe research instruments and may have an instrument appended];
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in the Instrumentation field and/or limit to the Publication Type: Tests/Questionnaires; OR search by keyword in the Instrumentation Index (click on More at the navigation bar at the top of the page and select Indexes)
Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name and additional subject headings such as (MH "Reliability and Validity+"); OR limit search results by selecting Publication Types: Research Instrument Utilization or Research Instrument Validation

ERIC  (Education Resources Information Center)

largest database of education literature in the world; includes a variety of document types including journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books

 

Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym and limit to Publication Type: Tests/Questionnaires [articles where an instrument is included]
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword and limit results to Document type: Test/Questionnaires
Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name and additional keyword or thesaurus terms such as test validity, content validity, construct validity, interrater reliability, test reliability, test reviews, etc. in the Descriptor field

ETS Test Collection

database of descriptive information for over 20,000 tests from varying fields with an emphasis on education

Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name 
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in SubjectSearch
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) comprehensive bibliographic coverage of a wide variety of evaluation and measurement tools for health and psychosocial studies, includes instruments not commercially or widely available Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym in the TI or AC field. Select Primary Source in search options under Source Code. View individual records to see the source reference.
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in the Measure field
Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name or acronym and select the Source Code: Review Source
Health Services & Sciences Research Resources contains information on instruments/indexes employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences with links to PubMed and additional resources. Find a Specific Test Search Instrument/Indices only or browse (click Browse link in the left navigation column) the Instrument/Indices database By Title or By Source
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in Instrument/Indices only
Medical Outcomes Trust not for profit organization dedicated to improving health and health care by promoting the science of outcomes measurement Find a Specific Test/Find Test for Variable Browse the list of instruments on the Instruments page; brief descriptions of the instruments and links to more information, including publisher, are included
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print describes more than 2,000 standardized English-language tests that assess personality, aptitude, achievement, intelligence, and other neuropsychological behavior. Only the descriptive material and reviews are available full-text. The tests are available for purchase. Coverage is 1989 - present. Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword
Find Test Reviews Click on the Has Review box Limit
National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC) public repository of information on evidence-based care quality measures and measure sets, sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword or click on Measures to browse by category; use Advanced Search to limit by age, population, etc.
PROQOLID site dedicated to identification and description of patient related outcomes (PRO) and quality of life (QOL) instruments; provides descriptions of over 690 questionnaires Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable Browse by alphabetical list of instruments, generic instruments, disease, target population, author's name; OR use the Search Engine to select from available Criterion options. Copies of tests are not available from this site without a subscription.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses comprehensive index to dissertations and theses from all fields of study, 1861-present. Full text of any dissertations not online is available through interlibrary loan.

Find a Specific Test/Find Test for a Variable Search by instrument name or by variable.  Check the appendices of dissertations for the full-text instruments used.

PsycINFO produced by the American Psychological Corporation, index of citations to the international literature of psychology Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym in one search box; in another search box type in the word ‘appended’ and select the Tests and Measures field. OR
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword in the Tests and Measures field
Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name in the Tests & Measures or Keyword or Abstract fields; add additional thesauraus terms such as Test Validity, Test Reliability in the Subjects field
PsycTESTS provides access to primarily unpublished tests developed by researchers. All records include a summary of the test as well as the history of its development. What sets PsycTESTS apart is, in many cases, the inclusion of the actual testing instrument. Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword
Find Test Reviews Limit to Record Type Test Review
PubMed biomedical database including MEDLINE Find Specific Test Search by instrument name or acronym
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword
Find Test Reviews Use keywords such as validity, reliability or use MeSH terms such as validation studies[pt], validation studies as topic[mh], reproducibility of results[mh]
RAND Health "All of the surveys and tools from RAND Health are public documents, available without charge (for non-commercial purposes). Some materials listed are not available from RAND Health. Links will take you to other websites, where you will find instructions for use." Find a Specific Test/Find Test for Variable Click on Surveys, browse by categories such as quality of life
Sociological Abstracts bibliographic database of over 1,800 journals, conference papers, dissertations, book reviews and selected sociology books on sociology, social welfare, social planning and development. Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name and additional terms such as Measures (Instruments) in the Subject Headings field
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword and additional terms such as  Measures (Instruments) in the Subject Headings field OR questionnaire*, test*, scale*, measure*, etc. in the Identifier field 
Find Test Reviews Search by instrument name or acronym and additional thesaurus terms such as reliability, validity, etc. in the Subject Heading field
Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database database of over 225 questionnaires and interviews intended to assist treatment providers and researchers with screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders. Measures that are widely used and have proven reliability and validity are noted with a gold star. Find a Specific Test Search or browse by instrument name or acronym; view full records to see the Use & Availability and Copy of Instrument fields
Find Test for a Variable Search by variable
Find Test Reviews Search or browse by instrument name or acronym; brief synopsis of reliability and validity included; references provided
Web of Science multidisciplinary databases covering journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, with searchable cited references. Find a Specific Test Search by instrument name and sort results by times cited; view original articles describing the instrument development for clues on how to obtain
Find Test for a Variable Search by keyword and limit
Find Test Reviews Run Cited Reference Search on the original article describing the instrument to find citing articles that may discuss validity and/or reliability of the instrument; OR search by instrument name in the Title field and additional terms such as validity, validation, reliability, etc. in the Topic field

Test