UVM Libraries Research Guides: History of the Holocaust: Cite Your Sources

Chicago Style

Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (8th edition)
Call Number: LB 2369 .T8 2013 (REF DESK)
Often referred to as Turabian, this book is the best guide for students in the use of Chicago Style. See chapter 17 for a detailed explanation of the Note-Bibliography style complete with numerous examples. The work also includes helpful information on everything from taking notes to working with sources, and basic grammar and usage issues.
Chicago Manual of Style
Newly updated 17th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.

Additional Resources:

Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
This easy to use guide provides lots of examples and guidance for using Chicago Style. It also includes a Citation Maker that can be used as a starting place for creating citations.
Chicago/Turabian Documentation
Excellent guide produced by the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin.
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Short guide to using Chicago Style from the publishers.

Citation Management Tools

There are many tools available to help you keep track of information when you do research and help you to properly format citations in a variety of styles (APA, MLA, etc.).

You can learn how to use these tools at our Citation Manager Workshops.

Keep track of research materials, organize note-taking, and format citations and bibliographies using this easy-to-master, free, open-source solution. Zotero is installed on computers in the Reference area.
Download
Quick Start Guide
Using Zotero at UVM

Oldest of the citation managers. This tool integrates well with Microsoft Word to produce citations while you write. Export citations from databases or use EndNote to search library databases. All UVM affiliates may download and use the software. EndNote is on most of the computers in the Reference Area.
Download
Introduction to EndNote

A free reference manager that helps to organize your research, collaborate with colleagues, create in-text citations & bibliographies, and discover new research
Download
Introduction to Mendeley