UVM Libraries Research Guides: Psychological Science: Articles

Before You Search

Can't find the full article? Use this button to see if we own it.

If we do not own an article, you can always request the article from another library via Interlibrary Loan. If you are making a request for the first time, you will need to create a registration before making your request. Interlibrary loaning an article is always free for students, staff, and faculty and requests are usually filled very quickly. More information and details are available.

Log on to EZproxy with your UVM NetID and password to access UVM Libraries' electronic resources, including databases, full-text journal articles, e-books, and more.

Core Resources in Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This resource contains international scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology, education, and the social, behavioral and health sciences. PsycINFO is the most comprehensive database for literature in the psychological sciences.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This resource indexes a limited selection of scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing. For more comprehensive searching, PsycINFO is preferred.

Annual Reviews in Psychology
Annual Reviews in Psychology offers review articles in many different psychological areas of interest. As an archive, it allows the user to trace the development of thought on a certain topic within the field.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.

Additional Resources

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This free resource comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Using PsycInfo

Searching in PsycInfo? Work through this brief guide to see all of the added features and ways to improve your searching in PsycInfo.

Guide to Using PsycInfo

Database Tips

Tips:

Using AND to link your search terms will narrow your search.
Using OR to link your search terms will broaden your search.

Use a * after the root of a word to find variations on a term.

Example: child* Finds "child," "childhood," or "children".

ALERTS!

!!!!!

Alerts can be set up in ProQuest that will email you new articles published in a particular journal. There is a 24 hour indexing lag, however, for many titles, this covers pre-print material as well.