UVM Libraries Research Guides: Geography: Finding Articles

Suggested Databases

Here is a list of selected, recommended databases to begin your search. For a more complete list of databases and online resources pertaining to geography click here.

= Remote access for UVM affiliates only

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary full-text database containing articles from many major geography journals. Dates vary.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary compendium of databases that covers broadly: agriculture, environmental sciences, pollution, energy, ecology, air and water quality, and other environmentally related topics. It includes references to journal articles, reports, books, conference proceedings and government publications. It contains citations with abstracts and some links to full text.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Database containing full-text articles and citations/abstracts, with deep coverage in relevant areas of geography, ecosystem ecology, natural resources, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, and social and urban planning.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Worldwide index to the scholarly literature of geography, geology, and natural resources, it is the premier geographic research database. An excellent resource for international development related topics. Coverage 1980-present.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
GeoRef provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. It includes references to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Coverage 1669 - present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of English language articles in social-sciences related disciplines, including geography. Coverage 1983 - present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Combines coverage of Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded. It provides access to the scholarly literature across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, symposia, workshops, and more. It additionally has the powerful ability to do cited reference searching, enabling users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work a field.