Scholarly Sources - Articles and Books - SOC 3991 Service Learning Internship Seminar - Fothergill (Spring 2024) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Research Tips

Research Tip: Cast a Wide Net. Use a variety of research databases as you look for resources and use Interlibrary Loan to access materials beyond UVM.

Research Tip: Search Strategies. Use an * at the end of a word's root to find words with alternate endings. Use quotation marks to search for a phrase; for example, "criminal justice."

Research Tip: Search for Known Items. Did you find a great article? Follow its citation trails:

Review the footnotes and bibliography for additional sources to consult.
See who cited this article by searching for it in Google Scholar.

Recommended Databases

Research databases can help you to identify scholarly articles in your area of study. There is some overlap in coverage but each research database will have some unique content.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes references to scholarly journal articles and periodicals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers, with some full text and links to full text.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly articles, journals, book reviews, and dissertations in social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly and professional literature in a wide range of social science areas, including anthropology, communications and mass media, economics, gender studies, international relations, public administration, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is a database supporting research on law enforcement, litigation, and all aspects of crime. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, dissertations, and other materials. It contains citations, some with links to full text.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. It also provides citations to books and pamphlets provided by JSTOR in digital format.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary full-text database of scholarly journals primarily in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It also provides citations to books provided by Project Muse in digital format.

Books and More

CATQuest This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to a wide variety of research materials from the UVM Libraries. Use it to locate books, articles, government publications, films, music, images, archival materials, and more.