This resource presents full-text reports examining government policy and current issues. Each report includes historical context, recent news and developments, statistics, arguments from opposing sides of the debate, and bibliographic references to related sources. Topics include politics, economics, law, media and more.
UVM affiliates may use this link to access the registration page for UVM's institutional subscription to the New York Times website. This subscription provides access to news, opinion, the book review, the magazine, Cooking, and more but excludes premium content such as the crossword. You must use your UVM email address to create an account and then go to nytimes.com and login to start reading. (This account will need to be reactivated via a library link periodically). Contact Ask a Librarian for help or more information.
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
This resource indexes a limited selection of scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing. For more comprehensive searching, PsycINFO is preferred.
This resource contains international scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology, education, and the social, behavioral and health sciences. PsycINFO is the most comprehensive database for literature in the psychological sciences.
This resource contains descriptions of medical diseases and disorders and is designed to be consulted by health care practitioners as they evaluate potential clinical diagnostic and treatment options. It also includes drug information, medical calculators, images, patient information in English and Spanish, continuing medical education modules, and links to full-text journal articles.
This resource is the preferred search tool in the field of education. It contains scholarly and practitioner-oriented articles in peer-reviewed and other journals, papers given at conferences, and scholarly reports in education and the behavioral sciences. It provides citation records, as well as a large amount of full-text content. Access for non-UVM affiliates @ eric.ed.gov.
This resource provides access to a large collection of contemporary and historical legal and policy information representing a global perspective. Use to locate articles from scholarly journals as well as government information and other primary sources including statutes, codes, and case law. Highlights include collections of Vermont materials; US Congressional Documents; publications of the American Enterprise Institute, and topic collections that address Religion and Law, Women and Law, Social Justice and more.
This resource provides access to the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes references to scholarly journal articles and periodicals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers, with some full text and links to full text.