UVM Libraries Research Guides: RSENR Graduate Students (2024-25): Finding articles

Finding articles for this class and others ...

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary compendium of databases that covers broadly: agriculture, environmental sciences, pollution, energy, ecology, air and water quality, and other environmentally related topics. It includes references to journal articles, reports, books, conference proceedings and government publications. It contains citations with abstracts and some links to full text.
Biological & Agricultural Index This link opens in a new window
This resource provides comprehensive coverage to scholarly literature and popular press in the biological and agricultural sciences, including agricultural industry, environmental science, veterinary science, and wildlife management.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource references journal and periodical articles, conference papers, and monographs in broad areas related to the environment, including but not limited to: ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution, law, policy, social and human impacts, and planning. It includes some full text and links to full text.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the fields of physical and cultural geography, earth sciences, ecology and natural resources, as well as international development-related topics. Coverage includes scholarly journal literature, magazine articles, product reviews, directories, conference proceedings, and reports. It includes bibliographic citations with abstracts and links to full-text articles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
This resource provides references to journal articles, books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, and other hard-to-find literature on all wildlife-related topics. It includes abstracts with some links to full text.

Using CATQuest

CATQuest is called a discovery tool and is a Google-like “meta” academic search engine designed to search broadly and return very large sets of results.

It searches lots (not all) of the content in databases subscribed to by the library. It is the big search box on the library home page.

Using Google Scholar from off campus

The easiest and recommended way to access library subscription journal articles directly from Google Scholar is to access Google Scholar from the link to it that the library provides -- either from this library research guide (Finding articles) or from the "Research databases" list on the Howe Library home page (click on the green button called: Research databases.)