Reference and Books - BIOL 1010A: FYS Biology of Sex - Higgins (Fall 2023) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

About This Page

One of the goals of this course is to use the research tools available to you. The following is a list of general library resources to get you started in your research. Library resources contain content like articles, ebooks, and reports that are behind UVM's subscription, so connect via a UVM network or login to access them.

Having trouble finding what you're looking for? Contact your librarian, Christie Silkotch, at christine.silkotch@uvm.edu.

Reference (Background) Sources

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to an extensive set of dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press, spanning a variety of different subject areas.
Current Topics in Developmental Biology This link opens in a new window
This resource contains surveys of major topics in the field of developmental biology. It provides in-depth reviews of cellular and molecular mechanisms in animal and plant development. Each volume has a central theme (e.g., hox genes, notch signaling, myogenesis, microRNAs, gametogenesis, epigenetics, stem cells, etc.) and comprises scholarly chapters written by researchers in the field.

A Dictionary of Genetics
Call Number: eBook
Oxford Dictionary of Biology
Call Number: eBook
Oxford Dictionary of Gender Studies

Selected Books

Sex in city plants, animals, and other forms of life : a guide to urban reproductive diversity by Kenneth D. Frank
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2022
Testosterone Rex: Myths of Sex, Science, and Society
Call Number: BF692 .F525 2017 (Howe Library, 3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2017
Sex Itself: The Search for Male and Female in the Human Genome
Call Number: QH600.5 .R53 2013 (Howe Library, 3rd Floor)
Sex/Gender: Biology in a Social World
Call Number: HQ1075 .F387 2012 (Howe Library, 3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2012
Sex Determination, Differentiation and Intersexuality in Placental Mammals
Call Number: QL959 .H96 1995 (Howe Library, 3rd Floor)

Working Off Campus?

Use the resource links on this guide or via the library website. If you are not on campus, you'll be prompted to log in using your UVM NetID and password to access UVM Libraries' electronic resource subscriptions, including databases, full-text journal articles, e-books, and more.