Consumer Health

The Agency for Health care Research and Quality provides a checklist to help men and women maintain their health.

Many advocacy organizations have excellent websites, but one of the best is from the American Heart Association. It covers all aspects of heart disease and stroke.

The National Cancer Institute is the Federal Government’s principal agency for cancer research and training and is a component of the National Institutes of Health. The site provides quality cancer information on cancer topics including news, clinical trials, statistics, and research and funding.

This website covers major and many infectious diseases. The full text of many CDC publications are available.

This is the official U.S. government site for people on Medicare.

The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is 1 of the 27 institutes and centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This site includes information about treatments and therapies for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.

Sponsored by the American Academy of Family Physicians, this site features comprehensive consumer health information for the entire family.

Developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this links to carefully selected information and websites from government health related organizations.

The National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities provides an information portal for health resources in selected priority health areas. Materials are provided in a variety of languages selected to reach populations with particular disparities in those areas.

The University of Vermont Health Network's library of health-related topics includes interactive tools as well as information on patient, family, and caregiver support groups throughout Vermont and beyond.

The Mayo Clinic site provides information on women's health issues such as birth control, reproductive and sexual health, menopause and osteoporosis.

This websites provides fitness information and expert exercise advice.

This consumer health database offers over 18,000 links to accurate and current medical information on the Internet that has been approved by the National Library of Medicine.

The NICHD , division of the National Institutes of Health, conducts research on the health of children and their their families. There are consumer-level information on more than 100 health topics, covered by NICHD research.

The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is 1 of the 27 institutes and centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This site includes information about treatments and therapies for Complementary and Integrative Health..

The National Institute of Mental Health (NIHM) is 1 of the 27 institutes and centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This site includes information about the understanding and treatment of mental illness through research.