Home - SOC 285: Service Learning Internship - Fothergill (Spring 2021) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Asking Sociological Questions

Research Resources

Article Databases

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of the international literature on sociology and related disciplines. Over 2,600 periodicals are indexed, as well as books and conference papers.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly articles, journals, book reviews, and dissertations in social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly and professional literature in a wide range of social science areas, including anthropology, communications and mass media, economics, gender studies, international relations, public administration, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is a database supporting research on law enforcement, litigation, and all aspects of crime. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, dissertations, and other materials. It contains citations, some with links to full text.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides an electronic archive of scholarly journals. Users can browse the journals or retrieve articles via full-text searching.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides full-text access to scholarly journals.

Books & More

CATQuest This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to a wide variety of research materials from the UVM Libraries. Use it to locate books, articles, government publications, films, music, images, archival materials, and more.

More

Sociology Subject Guide
This guide provides more information on information sources and methods research in the field of sociology.

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies (Purdue OWL)

What's a Scholarly Source?

Scholarly Sources (Cornell Univ. Libraries)

More Help

There are lots of places at the library where you can get help with your research.

1. Contact your class librarians (information to the left): We're happy to meet with you individually or answer shorter questions via email.

2. Ask a Librarian: Librarians can answer your questions via chat, email, or over the phone and available to meet with you via Teams.

3. Consult our online tutorials and guides to build your skills on your own. For this class you might find the following helpful:

Sociology Research Guide
Engaging with Scholarly Information (Interactive Tutorial)
Evaluating and Verifying Your Sources (Interactive Tutorial)
Reading and Working with Citations (interactive Tutorial)