Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Remote Access Tips and Tricks

Welcome

Many UVM students and faculty will not be coming to campus regularly, if at all this fall, here are some tips that can help you to use our collections and services.

Before You Start

In order to access UVM subscription resources (databases, journals, articles, ebooks) from off campus you need to log in to our proxy server. Most resource links will automatically prompt you to log in with your NetID to authenticate. For maximum success, click the “Connect Off Campus” button from the library homepage or use the link below:

UVM Proxy Access -- Login Now (link will open new window)

You will need to reauthorize each time you return to our site.

Note: The standard UVM VPN service is NOT configured to provide access to our subscription materials. If you already use and prefer the VPN, please contact us for instructions to configure Cisco AnyConnect for access to library subscription resources.

 

Get Help with a Class

Start with our Subject & Class Guides

 


 

Ask a Librarian for help with your research questions.

Also don't forget we have Course Material on Reserve.

Online Materials and Tools

The UVM Libraries provides access to digital materials available to you on and off campus.

CATQuest  can help you to find ebooks, journal articles, streaming media, and other online resources.

Research Databases offer access to full-text articles, ebooks, videos, and more.

Temporarily Free Collections from academic publishers.

Streaming Video at UVM

Accessing Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular search engine for locating academic and policy information. Use our link to Google Scholar from the Research Databases List or below to guarantee you will have access to our subscriptions while searching Google Scholar.

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery

Students who are working "at home" may request that books from UVM's collection be mailed to you. Use the Document Delivery Form to place an order.

Submit an Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery Request

First time users will need to provide some personal information before placing a request.

We encourage patrons to check our catalog for items needed because we will gladly scan chapters from books that UVM owns. We can also access electronic articles and other items to which we can get free access. Some dissertations can be purchased through ProQuest and delivered electronically. Any questions, please contact illhwlib@uvm.edu or call 802-656-2242. More information.

Online Tutorials

Need help finding your way with the research process? Check out these guides and tutorials from our Research Roadmap!

Quick Links