UVM Libraries Research Guides: Public Health: Working with Data

Data Consulting Services

UVM Software Portal for UVM students, staff and faculty
Go here to download SPSS, NVivo, EndNote, and other software.
Statistical Consulting
Statistical Software Support and Consulting Services are available to students, postdocs, and researchers at UVM and affiliates of UVM. Topics include data management, experimental design, interpretation of results of analyses, and installation/licensing of statistical software packages.
GIS Consultations
Consultants are available to help with geographic information systems project design, the selection of appropriate datasets, and the selection and use of geo-processing tools, including ArcGIS Pro, ArcGIS Online, and Google Earth Engine.
Data Visualization Consultation and Resource Guide
Consultations are available to help with visualizing and presenting your data, by going over types of visuals to consider using, composition design, and data visualization tool support.
Data Management Guide
UVM Libraries offers consultations for creating data management plans, including advice for complying with federal mandates. The Data Research Management Librarian can advise on appropriate platforms for sharing research data and best practices for adhering to FAIR guidelines.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window Use this resource to find information on measurement instruments such as questionnaires, checklists, rating scales and tests in the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. For reviews of tests, Mental Measurements Yearbook is preferred.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window This resource includes standardized English-language tests and measurements used in education, early childhood development, reading, speech and hearing, psychology, and related fields. It contains descriptions, professional reviews, and pricing information for the tests, but due to copyright limitations, does not provide the actual test instruments.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window Published by the APA, this resource provides information on thousands of psychological, behavioral, and achievement instruments. Measures, tests and scales are included, and in some cases, the actual instrument can be viewed and downloaded.

Research Instruments: A Guide to Resources Provides information and links for over a dozen resources for finding tests & instruments.

National and International Data

Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Host of national and state level health and disease information.
National Center for Health Statistics
A key portal to health and health services statistics for the United States. Developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
SAMHSA Data Collections
SAMHSA collects data through multiple sources and surveys and provides access to public-use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of mental illness and substance use disorders in America.
United States Census Bureau
A federal agency that collects and analyzes data about the American people, places, and economy.

Health Poll Database This link opens in a new window
This resource covers health-related US surveys run by the Roper Center, including questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on health-related topics from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs, and health-care utilization.

Data at the World Health Organization
Data platform that provides worldwide health data and dashboards.
HealthData.gov
Information and data sets provided by the US Department of Health & Human Services.

Vermont Data

CDC Health Statistics: Vermont
Health statistics provided by the CDC for the state of Vermont.
Vermont Department of Health Statistics and Vital Records
Health statistics and vital records at the state level for Vermont.