Reference (Background) - NFS 295 / ANTH 295 / NFS 395: Food, Exchange and Culture - Trubek (Fall 2020) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

About This Page

See below for some curated reference resources to explore. This is a list to get you started; it is not exhaustive.

NOTE: This page does not include journal articles, newspapers, or a lot of the other resources available to you. Visit the Books and Articles tabs to search additional materials on your own.

Please contact your librarian for further assistance!

Reference

Bailey's Industrial Oil and Fat Products
Call Number: eBook
Reference on the history, food chemistry, and processing technology related to edible oils and the nonedible byproducts derived from oils.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: eBook
The Oxford Companion to Food
Call Number: eBook
Brief and more substantive entries consider both a catalog of foods and commentary on the culture of food, whether expressed in literature and cookery books, or as dishes peculiar to a country or community. Find entries on specific foods, individual countries, types of cooking (e.g, white trash cooking, cajun, sitr-fry, etc.), and meta-issues that involve food (e.g., globalization, slow food, etc.).
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
Call Number: eBook

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to an extensive set of dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press, spanning a variety of different subject areas.

Food in the USA: A Reader
Call Number: GT2853.U5 F663 2002 (Howe 3rd Floor)
Street food around the world : an encyclopedia of food and culture
Call Number: eBook
Sweet treats around the world : an encyclopedia of food and culture
Call Number: eBook
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: eBook

Working from off-campus?

Log on to EZproxy with your UVM NetID and password to access UVM Libraries' electronic resources, including databases, full-text journal articles, e-books, and more.