Reference (Background) - FS 340: Food Systems, Science, & Policy - Bauerly (Spring 2023) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

About This Page

The following is a list of general library resources to get you started in your research. This is only a sampling of what the library has available. Library resources contain content like articles and ebooks that are behind UVM's subscription, so connect via a UVM network or login to access them.

Having trouble finding what you're looking for? Contact your librarian, Christie Silkotch, at christine.silkotch@uvm.edu.

Selected Reference Sources

Dictionary of Food Science and Technology
Call Number: TP368.2 .D58 2009 (Howe 1st Floor Reference)
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: ONLINE
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
Call Number: eBook
Oxford Dictionary of Biology
Call Number: eBook
Fields of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, with particular expansion to the areas of ecology, cell biology, and plant and animal development.
Oxford Dictionary of Food and Nutrition
Call Number: ONLINE
Entries on food, nutrition, diet, and health. Coverage spans types of food, nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and areas including metabolism and genomics. Includes food safety and relevant organizations, and nutritional information.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
Call Number: eBook

Additional General Background Sources

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This resource presents full-text reports examining government policy and current issues. Each report includes historical context, recent news and developments, statistics, arguments from opposing sides of the debate, and bibliographic references to related sources. Topics include politics, economics, law, media and more.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This resource is a collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and guide-books in e-book format, covering a multidisciplinary range of subjects. It is possible to search individual titles or the entire collection.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to an extensive set of dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press, spanning a variety of different subject areas.

Working Off-Campus?

To access UVM Libraries databases and subscription content from a non-campus network:

Simply use these links!
Easiest off-campus access method. By using links from research guides or the library website, you will automatically be asked to login with your NetID and password (if you aren't already logged in).
Virtual Private Network (VPN)
A more persistent way to login and access resources from off-campus. Install software that allows you to authenticate with your UVM NetID and password.