Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

ENGS 100A: Literary Theory & Criticism - Turner (Spring 2021)

Welcome to the Library!

This research guide is designed to help you find the most useful sources for your Annotated Bibliography assignment. Because of limited hours, access to the Howe Library is challenging in Spring 2021.
The "Quick Links" box (bottom of this page) and the "Articles & Books: MLA" page in the guide provide tips on how to access both physical books and scanned book chapters, as well as make use of the Curbside Pick-up Service. It also provides information on the Interlibrary Loan service for obtaining articles and book chapters not owned by the Howe Library. The "Quick Links" box also includes a guide for creating an annotated bibliography and three worksheets to help you record and track your research.
Remember! Be patient with yourself and do not hesitate to contact a librarian for help at any stage of your research. Good luck!

Getting Research Help in Spring 2021

There are a variety of ways to get help remotely from the Howe Library reference librarians during this time. Please ask us!  Use the "Ask a Librarian" service.

Ask A Librarian connects you with librarians in a variety of different ways

Email: howeref@uvm.edu

Chat
Note: If you see a message that says "chat unavailable" during chat "open hours," try refreshing your browser. It may be that two librarians are switching off with one another.

Schedule a Synchronous Virtual Research Consultation

Text: (802) 503-1703

Quick Links

Printable worksheets which will help you develop useful search terms and track your research.

Requests for ILL and Document Delivery may be placed online. Log in to your ILL portal using your UVM netid and e-mail password.
If you are making a request for the first time, you will need to register for the service before making a request. View a brief video on this page for instructions on how to register.

Find more details and a link to the ILL and document delivery request forms. There is also a link ("ILL/DD" green button) on the Library homepage.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Found a citation to a book or journal article that you need, but isn't owned by the library? Obtain the item through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan's (ILL) service for UVM affiliates will obtain materials (books, articles, book chapters) not owned by the UVM Libraries, from other libraries and document delivery sources. This service is free for UVM students, faculty, and staff. An article is delivered electronically and usually arrives within a few days. Book requests are generally filled within a week. 

Document Delivery (materials owned by UVM Libraries)

UVM students may request scans of articles and book chapters from materials available in Howe Library regular print and microform collections. ILL staff will scan articles or book chapters and deliver them as a PDF to a user's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) portal. There is no fee. Copyright law applies.

When you enter your ILL portal, in the left sidebar, select 

View a brief video on this page for instructions on how to request print items through document delivery.

Curbside Pickup (How to....)

Monday-Friday, 8 am - 10 am, UVM affiliates (students, staff, and faculty) may pick up Howe Library books, books obtained through Interlibrary Loan, and media equipment and DVDs by appointment at a designated area adjacent to the Howe Library front entrance. Howe Library Circulation and Multimedia Services staff will communicate with borrowers via email (or phone) to locate requested materials and coordinate pickup and drop-off times.

Use the Journal TitlesUVM affiliates only list (a green button on the library homepage) to determine if the library owns the journal (online or print) and what years are owned. If the library provides online access, you can then search the contents of that individual journal. If the journal is in print format only, you can request a scan of the article you need through the Document Delivery service.
Type the name of the journal in the search box. In the list of search results, click the link for the journal and then click the vendor link in the pop-up box. Note the year availability provided by each vendor in the list.
NOTE: to access ejournals from off campus, you must have first clicked on Connect Off Campus (a green button on the library homepage) and used EZproxy to log in with your UVM netid and password.

Working Off Campus?

Use your UVM NetID and password to log in to the UVM network through EZproxy before you begin your research, to access the UVM Libraries' licensed electronic resources, such as article databases, electronic journals, e-books, and more.

Once you're logged in look for "ezproxy.uvm.edu" in the URL of the web page (e.g., http://library.uvm.edu.ezproxy.uvm.edu/) to ensure that you are connected to the UVM network.
NOTEUVM affiliates only after a database name indicates a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.