Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

ENGS 005C: TAP Food & Writing - Miles (Fall 2020)

Welcome to the Library!

This research guide is designed to help you with the research component of your writing projects and introduce you to a selected number of carefully-curated licensed online library resources.

NEED MORE HELP?

Contact me directly via e-mail to ask a question or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation via Teams. I am always happy to work one-on-one with you to help you with your specific research topic.

Working Off Campus?

Click on (in the top red bar of the Library homepagebefore you begin your research. Enter your UVM Net ID and password.
This enables you to use UVM Libraries electronic resources, e.g., journal article databases, electronic journals, e-books, etc.

NOTE:  UVM affiliates only after a database name indicates that it is a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.

What's in this Guide?

  1. Background Information: encyclopedia and dictionary/handbook collections; individual subject encyclopedias.
  2. Books: Library Catalog part of CATQuest. Links to guidance on searching the catalog. Information on checking out and renewing books.
  3. Articles: databases for locating articles in scholarly journals and magazines. 3A. Sub-tab "Read a Journal Citation": sample citation unpacked; how to obtain an article when it's not full-text in the database.
  4. Substantive Magazines & Newspapers: selected list of substantive magazines and newspapers; how to find articles in them.
  5. Cite Sources: guides to help you cite your sources using two major citation styles: Chicago, APA.
  6. Keyword Searching: help with developing keywords for a topic, using variant spellings and synonyms, creating a keyword search.
  7. Evaluate Sources: guides, charts and videos to help you evaluate your sources for usefulness, credibility, and quality.
  8. Call Numbers & Subject Headings: directions on how to find print books in the Howe Library main circulating collection (2nd and 3rd floors).
  9. Library Research Tutorials: selected list of interactive library research tutorials.

Contact Your Librarian

Christie Silkotch's picture
Christie Silkotch
Contact:
David W. Howe Memorial Library
538 Main Street
Burlington, VT 05405
(802) 656-8130