Find Articles - REL 105: Religious Literacy - Trainor (Spring 2021) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Find Articles in Journals and Magazines

Article databases (sometimes called indexes) let you search multiple publications (such as magazines, journals, and newspapers) for articles published. Some databases are specialized and others are general. A multidisciplinary database covers a variety of topics A subject-specific database provides access to a deeper well of journals in that field - more so than when you use a multidisciplinary database which has only selected journals in a variety of fields.

The boxes below contain a selected list of multidisciplinary databases and guidance on selecting the most useful subject-specific article databases that are most closely aligned with your chosen field of study. For the most wide-ranging picture of how your topic was covered in the periodical press, you will want to make use of both multidisciplinary and subject indexes in conjunction with one another.

AND - narrows a search by combining two or more terms. All terms must be present. Example: mindfulness and classroom
OR - broadens a search by combining synonyms or alternative forms of words. Any of the words must be present. Write down any commonly used alternatives to/synonyms for your search terms and connect them with or Example: teaching or classroom
Phrase Searching - sometimes you may need to enclose a phrase in quotation marks (e.g. "public policy") in order to make sure the words are searched as a phrase.
Truncation/Wildcard - you can usually use a wildcard character at the end of a word (or its root) to search on a term and its variants all at once. Most databases use the asterisk (*) as the wildcard (aka truncation symbol). Examples: mindful* will retrieve results for mindful, mindfulness ; meditat* will retrieve results for meditate, meditation, meditating
Search Limits - you can often limit searches by document type (Article), language (English) and date ranges before you search in order to maximize your useful results.

See also the "References" section (pp.231-257) in the back of Mindful America by Jeff Wilson for additional books, book chapters, and articles.

References

Interlibrary Loan

If the library doesn't own a book or article that you need, you may request it from another library via Interlibrary Loan. This service is free for UVM students, faculty, and staff. An article is delivered electronically and usually arrives within a few days. Book requests are generally filled within a week.

If you are making a request for the first time, you will need to register for the service before making a request. View a brief video on this page for instructions on how to register.
Find more details and a link to the request forms. There is also a link ("ILL/DD" green button) on the Library homepage.

Journal

Mindfulness
Access this journal by clicking the green "online access" link in the CATQuest catalog record. On the next screen, click the "Springer Standard Collection" link. For the issues the library doesn't own, request the article/s through Interlibrary Loan.
This journal publishes peer-reviewed papers that examine the latest research findings and best practices in mindfulness. It explores the nature and foundations of mindfulness, its mechanisms of actions, and its use across cultures. In addition, Mindfulness features papers that address issues involving the training of clinicians, institutional staff, teachers, parents, and industry personnel in mindful provision of services.

Article Databases - Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. It also provides citations to books and pamphlets provided by JSTOR in digital format.

Sage Journals Online
Multidisciplinary collection of e-journals published by Sage. Note: Use the Advanced Search for more control over your search.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.

SpringerLink
This is an online collection of over 1,200 peer-reviewed journals and 25 book series published by Springer covering a variety of topics in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Use ILL to order articles and book chapters not owned by the library.

How to Find Subject-Specific Article Databases

A selection of multidisciplinary article databases are listed above, and you may be familiar with some, e.g., JSTOR, Google Scholar, etc. However, the library provides access to dozens and dozens of subject-specific article databases, some of which are core to a particular discipline, e.g., MLA International Bibliography for literary research. Below are some reasons for using subject-specific article databases as well as instructions on how to locate them from the library website

In Research Databases
browse the entire alphabetical list of article databases (choose "article databases" from the "All Info Types" list):

OR
browse the article databases lists by Subject. For example,

A blue flag next to a database indicates a suggested starting point.

Why Use Subject-Specific Article Databases?
By using a subject-specific database, you will focus your search on the literature in a particular field. This often gives you:
1. More precise and relevant search results
2. Access to a greater depth of literature in that field
3. A look at how scholars think and talk about subjects in their field
A subject-specific database provides access to a deeper well of journals in that field - more so than when you use a multidisciplinary database which has only selected journals in a variety of fields.

A subject-specific database has more searchable terms that reflect the specialized terminology used by scholars in that field, thus making your search more focused and your search results more relevant. To get the best results, pay attention to the terminology of the field and use those words when you brainstorm search terms.

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM article databases, the HTML or PDF full-text article may not be attached to the citation. If not, look for this icon:

Use this button to help you:

link directly to the article online, or
link to the journal's homepage, or
determine whether the library has that journal and year in print format, or
link to a search of the Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
link to an interlibrary loan form

If the article does not appear or if something confuses you, use to determine if the library owns the journal/magazine (print or online) and the issue and year you need.

What If the Library Doesn't Own What I Need?

Obtain the item through Interlibrary Loan.

CATQuest (Discovery Tool)

Click the image to access CATQuest Advanced Search.

The large search box on the library homepage provides access to our "discovery tool"; it is a Google-like academic search engine designed to retrieve lots of content in our library and beyond (books, articles, videos, etc.). Search the Library Catalog (a different search interface from the Classic Library Catalog ) and lots -but not all- of the content in databases subscribed to by the library. It isn’t meant to replace individual database searching, but provides an opportunity to discover the results of searches in many databases and the library catalog in a single search. Sign in (upper-right of screen) to access the most content available. Note: Using a computer off-campus? Connect to the UVM network via ezproxy or VPN client (recommended) before searching CATQuest.