THE 040: Fundamentals of Costuming - Thaler (Fall 2021): Images

This resource is a searchable portal to integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It covers all aspects of clothing, dress, fashion, and textiles around the world. It contains the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, fashion and costume dictionaries, and e-books. It provides selected images from the encyclopedia and selected museum collections in the U.S. and abroad.

This resource provides images of artwork and cultural artifacts of a wide variety of types, including paintings, sculpture, photographs, prints, furniture, textiles, documentary photographs, and crafts.
For this course: Click "Advanced Search." In the "Classification" category, tick the box for "Fashion, Costume and Jewelry" and then click the SEARCH button. On the next page you will see 89,000+ images. To search within this collection of images, tick the box next to "search within results." Remove the text in the search box, and enter the term you want to search, for example... corset. Then you will retrieve all the images that have the word "corset" in the image description.

This resource provides full access to Godey’s Lady’s Book (1830-1898), one of the most influential U.S. women's magazines of that era. Alongside articles concerning all aspects of the domestic sphere, the magazine includes patterns for handcrafts, color plates of the latest fashions, literary works, song lyrics, and sheet music. Click on the grey Search button at the bottom of the title description to access items in this title only.

This archive contains full issues of Vogue magazine from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. The archive is indexed and can be searched by photographer, fashion item (kimono, scoop neckline, Breton jacket), person pictured, company/brand, designer name, or material (chiffon, wool, taffeta).

Provides access to a wide range of primary source types beyond genealogical materials. Most notable for costumers is the Sears Catalog, one of the first and largest mail order catalogs in the U.S. To access the Catalog click "Search" at the top of the screen. Click "Card Catalog". On the next screen, in the "Title" search box, type the word Sears. Then click the link Historic Catalogs of Sears, Roebuck and Co., 1896-1993. Browse catalogs by year or search within.