Fashion & Costume - THE 040: Fundamentals of Costuming - Thaler (Fall 2021) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Costume, Fashion, Accessories - Reference Sources (online)

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable portal to integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It covers all aspects of clothing, dress, fashion, and textiles around the world. It contains the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, fashion and costume dictionaries, and e-books. It provides selected images from the encyclopedia and selected museum collections in the U.S. and abroad.

"Victorian Fashion"
essay from Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion - West Europe (Berg Fashion Library)

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
This archive contains full issues of Vogue magazine from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. The archive is indexed and can be searched by photographer, fashion item (kimono, scoop neckline, Breton jacket), person pictured, company/brand, designer name, or material (chiffon, wool, taffeta).

Encyclopedia of clothing and fashion
Print: REF GT 507 .E53 2005 (3 vols) [Row 5]
A survey of clothing, costume and fashion. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
Fashion, Costume and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines a variety of items of human decoration and adornment. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. Shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
Godey’s Lady’s Book
This resource provides full access to Godey’s Lady’s Book (1830-1898), one of the most influential U.S. women's magazines of that era. Alongside articles concerning all aspects of the domestic sphere, the magazine includes patterns for handcrafts, color plates of the latest fashions, literary works, song lyrics, and sheet music. Click on the grey Search button at the bottom of the title description to access items in this title only.

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of primary source types beyond genealogical materials. Most notable for costumers is the Sears Catalog, one of the first and largest mail order catalogs in the U.S. To access the Catalog click "Search" at the top of the screen. Click "Card Catalog". On the next screen, in the "Title" search box, type the word Sears. Then click the link Historic Catalogs of Sears, Roebuck and Co., 1896-1993. Browse catalogs by year or search within.

The Sears Catalog served as a mirror of the times, recording contemporary desires, habits, customs, and mode of living. The Catalog was the equivalent of today's online shopping. Of particular importance in rural areas where stores were scarce, a person could buy just about anything from the catalog--not just clothing, but jewelry, shoes, hardware, agricultural implements-- even homes! View the 1898 catalog to see what the average person was using and buying at that time.

Selected Print Reference Books

Important Set of Books - Row 12

A Cultural History of Dress and Fashion by Susan J. Vincent (Editor); Susan Vincent
Call Number: REF TT 497 .C85 2017 (6 vols)
Presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. This set of six volumes covers over 2,500 years of dress and fashion. Relevant volumes: Vol 5: The Age of Empire (1800-1920). Vol 6: The Modern Age (1920-2000+). Each volume discusses the same key themes in its chapters: 1. Textiles 2. Production and Distribution 3. The Body 4. Belief 5. Gender and Sexuality 6. Status 7. Ethnicity 8. Visual Representations 9. Literary Representations. This structure means readers can either have a broad overview of a period by reading a volume or follow a theme through history by reading the relevant chapter in each volume.

ROW 5

Fashion in History : western dress, prehistoric to present
Call Number: REF GT 510 .B47 1979
What People Wore When : A Complete Illustrated History of Costume from Ancient Times to the Nineteenth Century for Every Level of Society
Call Number: REF GT 511 .W53 2008
Fashions of the Gilded Age
Call Number: REF GT 595 .L67 2009 (2 vols)
1940s Fashion : The Definitive Sourcebook
Call Number: REF GT 596 .D575 2013
1930s Fashion : The Definitive Sourcebook
Call Number: REF GT 1720 .N56 2015
Fashions of the Thirties : 476 authentic copyright-free illustrations
Call Number: REF GT 596 .F38 1993
Reproduces illustrations from the Fashion Review Service, a company that provided advertising illustrations to small clothing and department stores that had no in-house art staffs.
Complete Fashion Sourcebook
Call Number: REF GT 596 .P393 2005
20th-Century Fashion : the Complete Sourcebook
Call Number: REF GT 596 .P433 1993
Fashion Accessories : the Complete 20th Century Sourcebook
Call Number: REF GT 596 .P4327 2000
American Victorian Costume in Early Photographs Over 280 rare photographs document the clothing of ordinary men, women, and children from the 1840s through the 1890s, in what appears to be their Sunday best. Bustles, hoops, pantalets, shirtwaists, top hats, waistcoats, bowlers, other Victorian-era attire, as well as hairdressing and tonsorial styles. Introduction to fashions of each decade.
Call Number: REF GT 610 .D35 1991
Everyday Fashions... as Pictured in Sears Catalogs
Call Number: REF GT 615 .E [6 titles, covering 1909-1960s]
American Costume, 1840-1920
Call Number: REF GT 610 .W67
American Costume, 1915-1970 : A Source Book for the Stage Costumer
Call Number: REF GT 615 .036 1982
Costumes and Settings for Staging Historical Plays
Call Number: REF GT 720 .C37 1979 (5 vols)
Relevant volume: v. 5 Nineteenth century.
19th-Century Costume and Fashion
Call Number: REF GT 720 .N622 1998
Mourning Dress : a costume and social history by Lou Taylor
Call Number: REF GT 720 .T38 1983
Guide to Historic Costume
Call Number: REF GT 730 .B33 1995
Costume for Births, Marriages and Deaths by Phillis Cunnington
Call Number: REF GT 733 .C86 1972b
Men's Fashion: the Complete Sourcebook
Call Number: REF GT 1710 .P43 1996
Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's Fashions
Call Number: REF GT 1710 .S36 1973
Vogue History of 20th Century Fashion
Call Number: REF GT 1720 .M84 1988
Visual History of Costume Accessories by Valerie Cumming
Call Number: REF GT 2050 .C86 1998
History of Underclothes by C. Willett Cunnington; Phillis Cunnington Scholarly survey of various undergarments worn by the English over six centuries.
Call Number: REF GT 2073 .C8 1992
Vintage Hats & Bonnets, 1770-1970
Call Number: REF GT 2110 .L36 1998
A Cultural History of Hair by Geraldine Biddle-Perry
Call Number: REF GT 2290 .C85 2019 (6 vols)
Presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. This set of six volumes covers nearly 3,000 years of Hair and its physical, spiritual, social and cultural dimensions. 1. Antiquity (600 BCE - 800 CE) 2. Medieval Age (800 - 1450) 3. Renaissance (1450 - 1650) 4. Age of Enlightenment (1650 - 1800) 5. Age of Empire (1800 - 1920) 6. Modern Age (1920 - 2000+) Each volume discusses the same themes in its chapters: 1.Religion and Ritualized Belief 2.Self and Society 3.Fashion and Adornment 4.Production and Practice 5.Health and Hygiene 6.Gender and Sexuality 7.Race and Ethnicity 8.Class and Social Status 9.Cultural Representations This structure means readers can either have a broad overview of a period by reading a volume or follow a theme through history by reading the relevant chapter in each volume.

ROW 12

Fashion Source Book
Call Number: REF TT 509 .M38 1996
Century of Fashions : dress pattern illustrations, 1898-1997 Presents a century of fashion illustrations from dress pattern envelopes ranging from the 1890s to the 1990s. References the popular shapes, silhouettes, and fashions through nearly 350 patterns for evening wear, lingerie, sportswear, and more. This detailed presentation illustrates cultural, social, and economic changes influencing women's fashions and the stylized illustrations used to capture the mode and ideal body styles of the day. Offers hundreds of skillful renderings done by hand.
Call Number: Ref TT 520 .D84 2011
Encyclopedia of Hair : a Cultural History
Call Number: REF TT 957 .S46 2006

Definitions: Clothing & Dress, Related Topics

Berg Companion to Fashion
Available online through Berg Fashion Library. Type the title (Berg Companion to Fashion) into the search box on the landing page.

ROW 5

Dictionary of English costume by C. Willett Cunnington
Call Number: REF GT 507 .C8 1960a
Dictionary of Fashion History by Valerie Cumming, et al
Call Number: REF GT 507 .C86 2010
Dictionary of English costume, by C. Willett Cunnington was a comprehensive catalogue of fashion terms from the mid-medieval period up to 1900 (see above entry). Dictionary of Fashion History updates and supplements the Cunningtons' work to bring it up to the present day. However, the earlier version is still useful and should be consulted.

ROW 12

Fairchild Books dictionary of textiles, 8th ed. by Phyllis G Tortora, et al
Call Number: REF TS 1309 .F34 2014
Encyclopedia of Textiles by Judith Jerde Spanning nearly 5000 years of textile history, this book covers the field from the first practical and decorative use of fabrics to the introduction of modern synthetic materials. Organized in an A to Z format, the work provides information on fabric, fabrication methods, machine processes (felting, weaving) and more. At the same time, the book also covers methods of producing and treating fabrics, such as block printing, calendering and delustering. Biographies of major textile and fabric innovators are also included.
Call Number: REF TS 1309 .J47 1992
Fairchild Books dictionary of fashion, 4th ed. by Phyllis G Tortora, et al
Call Number: REF TT 503 .C34 2014
Fashion Dictionary; fabric, sewing, and apparel as expressed in the language of fashion by Mary B. Picken (Editor)
Call Number: REF TT 503 .P5 1973
Apparel production terms and processes, 2nd ed. by Janace E Bubonia
Call Number: REF TT 494 .B83 2017
Dressmaker's Dictionary by Ann Ladbury
Call Number: REF TT 503 .L333 1982
An illustrated dictionary of hairdressing and wigmaking Containing words, terms, and phrases current and obsolete, dialectal, foreign, and technical, used in Britain and America pertaining to the crafts of hairdressing and wigmaking; also words derived from these crafts having a wider use, but excluding, with some necessary exceptions, medical, chemical and scientific terms.
Call Number: REF TT 951 .C6

THE 040: Fundamentals of Costuming - Thaler (Fall 2021): Fashion & Costume

Costume, Fashion, Accessories - Reference Sources (online)

Selected Print Reference Books

Definitions: Clothing & Dress, Related Topics