G C : Etiquette - THE 040: Fundamentals of Costuming - Thaler (Fall 2021) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Etiquette Books & Household Management

Etiquette: conventional rules of personal behavior observed in polite society. Also.... ritual behaviors observed in social gatherings.

While most etiquette books are Located on the 2nd floor (BJ 1852-1877 call number range), several etiquette books important for this course have been transferred to the Reference Collection (main/1st floor). This is not only for easier access but to allow everyone in the class to use them. Reference books are non-circulating, but you can scan pages for free in the library or you can take photographs of pages with your IPhone. The titles in the Reference Collection are listed first in the list below.

Reference Collection - Row 2 (main/1st floor)

Etiquette; "The blue book of social usage," by Emily Post
Call Number: REF BJ 1853 .P6 1940
editions from previous and subsequent years are shelved on the 2nd floor, in the same call number range.
Manners and Social Usages by Mary Elizabeth W. Sherwood.
Call Number: REF BJ 1852 .S54
Publication Date: 1897 (1975 reprint)
Search for and view the full-text book in Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Twentieth century culture and deportment, or, The lady and gentleman at home and abroad : containing rules of etiquette for all occasions ... by Maud C. Cooke
Call Number: REF BJ 1853 .C713 [1899]
Etiquette for all occasions by Mrs. Burton Kingsland
Call Number: REF BJ 1853 .K56 1902

2nd Floor

Decorum; a practical treatise on etiquette and dress of the best American society by Ruth, John A.; rev. by S.L. Louis.
Call Number: BJ 1852 .R82 1883
Search for and view the full-text book in Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Correct social usage : a course of instruction in good form, style and deportment, 8th rev. ed.
Call Number: BJ 1853 .C783 1907 (vol 2)
Search for and view the full-text book (2 vols) in Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Encyclopædia of etiquette; what to write, what to do, what to wear, what to say; a book of manners for everyday use by Emily Holt
Call Number: BJ 1853 .H68 1923 (2 vols)
Mixing in society : A complete manual of manners
Call Number: BJ 1872 .M59 1874
Sensible etiquette of the best society, customs, manners, morals, and home culture by Bloomfield-Moore, Clara Sophia Jessup. Comp. by Mrs. H. O. Ward
Call Number: BJ 1852 .B6 [1878]
The etiquette of dress by compiled by Madeleine Brant
Call Number: BJ 1877 .D74 E85 1996
The Ladies' Etiquette Handbook : the importance of being refined in the 1880s by David E. Schoonover (Editor)
Call Number: BJ 1853 .L27 2001
"Facsimile editions of Short hints on social etiquette by 'Aunt Matilda' and The ladies' handbook and household assistant." 1886 and 1887
The Duties of servants : a practical guide to the routine of domestic service
Call Number: HD 8039 .D52 G77 1993 (3rd floor)
This guide was originally published in 1894.

Online Only

Manners That Win (1880)
[pages 242-249 - chapter on funeral and mourning customs, including funeral attire]
book owned by the University of Michigan Libraries and digitized by Google
Manners, Culture and Dress of the Best American Society (1894, c.1890)
Search for and view the full-text book in Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
The Correct Thing in Good Society (1888)
Search for and view the full-text book in Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

THE 040: Fundamentals of Costuming - Thaler (Fall 2021): G C : Etiquette

Etiquette Books & Household Management