The Passing ParadePresents a survey of the ways in which popular culture has been created, packaged, sold, and consumed since 1900. Topics include movies, fashion, design, media and advertising, popular music and dance, sports, television, the popular press, fads. Divided chronologically into six parts, the book supplements its main text with pictures and an array of sidebar material. Each section includes a chronology providing information about the "who, what, and when" of the period and biographical details about major figures of the time.
Call Number: REF CB 151 .P27 1989 Row 2
This Fabulous Century
Call Number: REF E 161 .T55 (12 vols) Row 4
Pictorial survey of the American social scene during each decade of this century. Look in these volumes : 1870-1900, 1900-1910, 1930-1940, 1940-1950
Victorian America, 1876 to 1913
Call Number: REF E 168 .S55 1996 Row 4
(Almanacs of American Life) Provides readers with a broad picture of life in the U.S. 1876-1913 in all its various aspects, using text, photographs, charts, lists, chronologies, and statistics.
Writer's Guide to Everyday Life from Prohibition through World War II by Marc McCutcheon
Volume 6 : Development of the Industrial United States, 1878-1899
American Chronicle
Call Number: REF E 169.1 .G664 1999 Row 4
A record of life in the United States since 1900. News, entertainment, art, literature, science and technology, sports, and fashion highlights are recorded for each year, embellished by over a thousand photographs. An essay introduces each decade, capturing the flavor of each period.
The Gilded Age
Call Number: REF E 169.1 .S5585 2004 Row 4
(American Popular Culture Through History series). Twelve narrative chapters chronicle how American culture changed and grew near the end of the 20th century. Included are chapter bibliographies, a timeline, a cost comparison, and a suggested reading list for students.
The 1940s
Call Number: REF E 169.1 .S559 2004 Row 4
(American Popular Culture Through History series) . Discusses American popular culture of the 1940s, addressing such topics as politics, the middle class, the development of youth culture, advertising, architecture, fashion, food, leisure pursuits, literature, travel, and the arts.
Continued......
The 1930s
Call Number: REF E 169.1 .Y59 2002 Row 4
(American Popular Culture Through History series) . Describes American youth of the 1930s and the trends that shaped popular culture during that period, covering such areas as advertising, fashion, food, leisure, music, and visual arts; and provides a time line, a list of 1930s product costs, and a further-reading list.
America in the Thirties by Marnie M. Sullivan; John Olszowka, et al
Call Number: E 806 .O54 2014 [3rd floor, circulating book]
America in the Forties by Ronald Allen Goldberg
Call Number: E 806 .G635 2012 [3rd floor, circulating book]
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
Call Number: REF E 661 .E53 2005 (3 vols) Row 5
The Gilded Age and Progressive Era
Call Number: REF E 661 .P44 2006 Row 5
Modern America, 1914 to 1945
Call Number: REF E 766 .G67 1995 Row 5
(Almanacs of American Life) Provides readers with a broad picture of life in the U.S. 1914-1945 in all its various aspects, using text, photographs, charts, lists, chronologies, and statistics. Find income of ministers, 1929-1936. Look in the book's Index under the entry "Ministers" to find the page number. Then, use the Consumer Price Index Calculator http://www.bls.gov/data/inflation_calculator.htm to roughly estimate what a minister's salary was in 1940/41.
The Value of a Dollar, 1860-2014
Call Number: REF HB 235.U6 D47 2014 Row 6
Illustrates trends in prices by recording the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present. Each chapter covers a different period of time and includes historical chronology, consumer prices, typical investment returns, income for selected jobs, national average wages, and pricing for food and other items.
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Call Number: REF HN 57 .E58 1993 (3 vols) Row 7
This reference focuses on processes and people - how they chose sites for towns and built their homes, how they led their lives, how they modified and were modified by their physical surroundings. Race, gender, ethnicity, work, culture, technology, education, and family history are included.
Volume 1: "Periods of Social Change," esp. pp.157-203 & Volume 2: "Clothing and Personal Adornment," pp.1357-1368
Social & Cultural Context of the Play - Online
This page lists books which will help you learn about the social, economic, political, and religious environments during the time the play is set.
This source is comprised of 1,400+ scholarly entries providing a succinct but thorough overview of America's political, diplomatic, and military history, as well as social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.
Cross-disciplinary source that presents a decade by decade (1900-1999) overview of U.S. social history through the lens of several categories (e.g., politics, arts, fashion, sports, media, religion, social trends, etc.).
Published by Johns Hopkins University Press for the American Studies Association (ASA), this title covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives and the global American Studies movement.
This resource provides access to the complete Encyclopædia Britannica. Articles are written by scholars and experts and include photographs, tables, graphs and videos. The resource also offers access to additional reference sources such as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus and country statistics.
Source comprised of 3,000+ signed essays that cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television & radio; art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance).
Features long overviews and short entries discussing people; social issues; books, films, and plays; products and technological advances; elections and political movements; and other important topics representative of each decade. On the home page, look in the Decades section to find links to the online version of a series which includes these two titles: The 1930s in America (3 vols) / REF E 169.1 .T475 2011 and The 1940s in America (3 vols) / REF E 169.12 .F676 2011 (Row 4). Search tip: after choosing a decade, use the search box to search for terms such as: fashion, clothing, income, wages.
