Finding Research Articles & Journals - SOC 3350: Family as Social Institution - Fothergill (Fall 2023) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM databases, watch for this icon:

Use this button to help you:

link directly to articles online, or
link to a search of UVM Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
link to an interlibrary loan form

Tools for Finding Scholarly Articles

Research databases can help you to identify scholarly articles in your area of study. There is some overlap in coverage but each research database will have some unique content. Sociological Abstracts is the most comprehensive source.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes references to scholarly journal articles and periodicals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers, with some full text and links to full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. For best results limit your search to materials in the Subject of Sociology.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary full-text database of scholarly journals primarily in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It also provides citations to books provided by Project Muse in digital format.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly and professional literature in a wide range of social science areas, including anthropology, communications and mass media, economics, gender studies, international relations, public administration, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is a database supporting research on law enforcement, litigation, and all aspects of crime. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, dissertations, and other materials. It contains citations, some with links to full text. Useful for finding materials on the intersection of family issues and the criminal justice system.

Find A Journal

If you have a citation for an article and want to know if UVM provides access to it, the best way to check is by using our JOURNAL TITLES search. You can find a button to this feature on the main page of the web site or use the box below.

What to do if UVM does not own the article you need

UVM can get you almost any article ever published free of cost. Use our Interlibrary Loan Request form to place your order. First time users will need to register for the service.

Title:

Starts with Contains