Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

REL 133: Islam and Modernity - Morgenstein Fuerst (Fall 2019)

Before You Search

An Article Database--sometimes called an Index--will enable you to identify articles published in multiple publications, such as magazines, journals, and newspapers. Some databases are very specialized and others are more general. Multidisciplinary article databases cover a variety of topics while subject-specific databases focus on a particular discipline (e.g., religion, gender studies, history, etc.). The boxes below contain lists and links to useful databases for this course.

Search Tips: 

  • Sometimes a phrase needs to be enclosed in quotation marks (e.g. "islamic law") to make sure the words are searched as a phrase.
  • Limit searches by document type (Article), language (English) and date ranges before you search in order to maximize your useful results.
  • Use a truncation or wildcard symbol at the end of a word or root word to retrieve variant word endings, including plurals.
    It makes a search more efficient by decreasing the number of searches while retrieving more results.
    Most databases use  *  as the truncation symbol.
    Examples: feminis* retrieves: feminism, feminist, feminists
                      environment* retrieves: environment, environmental, environmentalist, etc.
                      muslim* retrieves muslim, muslims

When you retrieve articles, you will get the article's citation. This is the information you need to know to find and cite the article. Below is an example of a citation:

When searching for articles using article databases, the full-text article may not be attached to the citation. If not, look for this icon next to the article citation to see if the library owns it and, if so, access it:
 

Interlibrary Loan

If the library doesn't own a book or article that you need, you may request it from another library via Interlibrary Loan. This service is free for UVM students, faculty, and staff. An article is delivered electronically and usually arrives within a few days. Book requests are generally filled within a week.

If you are making a request for the first time, you will need to register for the service before making a request. 
Find more details and a link to the request forms. There is also a link ("ILL/DD" green button) on the Library homepage.

Use your UVM NetID and password to log in to the UVM network through EZproxy before you begin your research, to access the UVM Libraries' licensed electronic resources, such as article databases, electronic journals, e-books, and more. Once you're logged in look for "ezproxy.uvm.edu" in the URL of the web page (e.g., http://library.uvm.edu.ezproxy.uvm.edu/) to ensure that you are connected to the UVM network.
NOTEUVM affiliates only after a database name indicates a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.

Subject-Specific

Multidisciplinary