Background - Religion & Countries - REL 133: Islam and Modernity - Morgenstein Fuerst (Fall 2019) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Become Familiar With Your Topic

When you are exploring a topic with which you are unfamiliar or have only limited information, it's valuable to find at least one source (e.g. subject encyclopedias, companions, etc.) that provides some background information. These types of sources are neutral in tone and provide a scholarly yet accessible introduction to a topic in the broadest sense; identify key ideas and themes; may point to important people associated with a topic; introduce unfamiliar terms that can be added to a list of keywords; provide a bibliography/list of works cited/sources for further study. Subject encyclopedias, in particular, may help you either choose a topic or narrow down a topic.

Encyclopedias - Religion

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This reference work includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today's Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas. Search by keyword/s: Type your search term/s (e.g., hajj ) in the box on the right of the screen. Browse by topic: click on the "Table of Contents" button. Then click on the pull-down menu next to "Choose a Volume." Select the volume that might include your topic (e.g., "clothing and adornment", etc.), and then scroll down the page until you see the link you're looking for.

Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
Call Number: REF BP 173.4 .E53 2003 (6 vols) [Row 2]
v. 1. Methodologies, paradigms and sources -- v. 2. Family, law and politics -- v. 3. Family, body, sexuality and health -- v. 4. Economics, education, mobility and space -- v. 5. Practices, interpretations and representations -- v. 6. Supplement & index.

Encyclopaedia Iranica
This ongoing academic work is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian Subcontinent. It will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture, as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the entire range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Print: REF BL 31 .E46 2005 (15 vols)
One of the most complete and authoritative works on religion - in the broadest sense. Search by keyword/s: Type your search term/s (e.g., islam and angels ) in the box on the right of the screen. Browse by topic: click on the "Table of Contents" button. Then click on the pull-down menu next to "Choose a Volume." Select the volume that might include your topic (e.g., "islam" or "sufism", etc.), and then scroll down the page until you see the link you're looking for.

Encyclopedias - Countries

Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations, 14th ed (2017)
Information on 200+ countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss various topics in detail (e.g., history, government data, demographic statistics, religion, languages, climate, etc.). Browse by country: click on the "Table of Contents" button. Then click on the pull-down menu next to "Choose a Volume." Select the region your country is in and then select the country. Search by keyword/s: Type your search term/s (e.g., wahhabism ) in the box on the right of the screen.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.
Browse by topic: click on the "Table of Contents" button. Then click on the pull-down menu next to "Choose a Volume."
Select volume 1 Religions and Denominations to find the "portals" for essays on various aspects of different religions. Each entry includes: a brief overview, brief history, central doctrines, sacred books, organizational structure, houses of worship and holy places, what is sacred, rituals, rites of passage, etc.
Select vols 2-4 "Countries" to read essays on religion in various countries. Search by keyword/s: Type your search term/s (e.g., hajj ) in the box on the right of the screen.