One of the best academic resources available on the Internet. It is a major digital collection of resources relating to the ancient world, comprising original language texts and translations, reference material, maps, images, and philological tools. Perseus Search Tools.
Based at University of Oxford. Provides three databases of images of Ancient Greek gems, pottery, and sculpture. Detailed descriptions of each artifact are provided, as is a dictionary which explains the technical terms, names, and myths used in the descriptions. Includes a extensive bibliography on various topics in Ancient Greek art. Use of the databases is free, but registration is required to gain access to some (not all) areas of the site.
Based at the University of York (UK), this includes a digital depository for heritage data generated by UK-based fieldwork and research. Useful for locating images of objects and sites in Roman Britain.
Aims to provide a database of excavations throughout the area of the Roman Empire since 2000, providing a record in English and in the local language for each season.
Ancient History SourcebookExtensive selection of links, study guides, and articles pertaining to the ancient Near East and ancient Mediterranean worlds, as well as some public domain works, and links to larger online collections.
Open access encyclopedia of the Ancient World, which includes a timeline, images, and interactive maps. Caveat! While it a well-regarded website, the encyclopedia portion is not scholarly or peer-reviewed.
(Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago). Scholars from the University of Chicago developed this teacher resource to provide an overview of Middle Eastern cultures and their contributions to the world.
Scholars from the University of Chicago developed this website in collaboration with a team of Chicago Public School teachers to aid the teaching of ancient Mesopotamia using artifacts from the Mesopotamian collection of the Oriental Institute Museum of the University of Chicago.
Comprises The Papyrological Navigator (PN) which supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials; the Papyrological Editor (PE) which enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images.
-> Ancient/Biblical History -> Greece, Rome, Mesopotamia, etc.
Oxford Classical Mythology OnlineOnline companion to Morford's Classical Mythology, 9th edition.
Click on "Student Resources" to find summaries and analyses of myths, related maps, and glossaries.