Encyclopedia of the entire ancient Mediterranean world covering Neolithic through the eighth century CE (i.e., 701-800). Geographic range includes: Greece and Rome, Ancient Near East, Bronze and Iron Age Greece, Jewish history, and Pharaonic Egypt. MAPS: in the "More from this reference work" sidebar, click the link "Maps of the Ancient World."
[Print: REF DE 5 .O9 2012] Authoritative scholarly classics dictionary whose articles cover people, places and events in all facets of the classical world in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The digital version is dynamic, with new and continuously updated articles. Includes additional content such as Maps of the Ancient World, images, and links to related websites. Includes a key to Abbreviations used in the OCD, now standard in the field of Classics.
A project from Harvard University, "The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds."
Pleiades is a community-built gazetteer and graph of 36,000+ ancient places. It publishes authoritative information about ancient places and spaces, providing unique services for finding, displaying, and reusing that information under open license.
This resource provides images of artworks and cultural artifacts of a wide variety of types, including paintings, sculpture, photographs, prints, furniture, textiles, ceramics, and more from around the world. The collection can be searched by creator, time period, type of work or by region of origin.
he foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Peer-reviewed articles are accompanied by bibliographies, links to additional resources, and frequently, images.
This resource provides access to the complete Encyclopædia Britannica. After entering the database, click "Media Browse" to search across millions of images and videos from the encyclopedia, including the "History->Ancient World" and "Philosophy and Religion" collections.
Digital Images (Ancient World) - Freely Available on the Internet
Major digital collection of resources relating to the ancient world, including images (i.e., buildings, coins, gems, sculptures, vases and sites). Access to some images (other than thumbnail size) is restricted, as many objects are owned by museums which did not give permission to display on the Internet.
Based at University of Oxford. World's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery. The digital archive includes extensive collections of images of Greek and Roman sculpture and Greek pottery, as well as photographs of monuments and archaeological sites. Includes a bibliography on various topics in Ancient Greek art. Use of the databases is free, but registration is required to gain access to some (not all) areas of the site.
This is a collaborative effort to distribute and encourage the sharing of free digital imagery for the study of the ancient world. The Institute for the Study of the Ancient World (NYU) started this project by distributing imagery donated by its faculty, staff, and students via Flickr under a Creative Commons Attribution (cc-by) license.
The database of the Census documents antique art and architecture known in the Renaissance. The project focuses on recording which antique monuments were proved to be known where, when and in what state of preservation. Search for sculpture and architectural images.
An online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums worldwide. Search by keyword, artist, medium, country/place, art movements, historical events, historical figures.
Provides free access to 900,000+ images (some in public domain) digitized from the The NYPL's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, streaming video, and more. Search by keyword or Browse Collections.
Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries, covering the time period 8000 BCE-2000 CE.
An all-digital library that aggregates information and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums in the United States.
This internationally recognized image database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains @100,000 images, is global in coverage, and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Works in the public domain, distributed on a free-access, free-use basis. Emphasis on ancient, medieval, and the Renaissance in Europe. Created by Allan Kohl from the Minneapolis College of Art & Design, the site is hosted by the University of Michigan's Digital Library.