UVM Libraries Research Guides: Classics: Key Journals / Abbreviations

How to Locate the Holdings (year coverage) for each Journal

Journals Provided by UVM Libraries
Use the link above or the Journal Titles search function (green button also found on the library homepage under the large search box) to gain access to full-text articles from many of these journals. Type the name of the journal. Click the journal title on the results screen to see a list of vendors who provide access to this journal and the years available. If the library has only the print version of a journal, you will see this as well.
To search for articles on a topic within these journals, use the article databases listed in the page Articles. Caveats: While L'Année Philologique is the best to start, no one article database will index all of these journals; An article database may not index every year of a journal.

Key Journals Owned by UVM (print and online)

Agricultural History	Historia: Zeitschrift für Alte Geschichte
American Historical Review	Historical Archaeology
American Journal of Archaeology	Isis Journal of Archaeological Method and Theory
American Journal of Philology	Journal of Egyptian Archaeology
Anatolian Studies	Journal of Hellenic Studies
Annual of the American Schools of Oriental Research	Journal of Military History
Archaeological Reports	Journal of Near Eastern Studies
Arion	Journal of Roman Studies
Biblical Archaeologist	Journal of the History of Ideas
British Journal for the History of Science	Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes
British Journal for the Philosophy of Science	Memoirs of the American Academy in Rome
Church History	Mnemosyne
Classical Antiquity	Near Eastern Archaeology
Classical Bulletin	Past & Present
Classical Journal	Philosophy of Science
Classical Philology	Phoenix
Classical Quarterly	Phronesis
Classical Review	Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society
Classical Weekly	Proceedings of the Aristotelian Society
Classical World	Revue historique
Daedalus	Speculum
Galpin Society Journal	Studies in Philology
Glotta	Syria
Gnomon	Technology and Culture
Greece & Rome	Traditio
Harvard Studies in Classical Philology	William and Mary Journal
Hermes	World Archaeology
Hesperia	Zeitschrift für Papyrologie und Epigraphik

Journal Abbreviations

The abbreviations of journal titles in classical studies and related fields found in the Oxford Classical Dictionary and L'Année Philologique are widely used. For archaeological periodicals see the abbreviations used by the American Journal of Archaeology.

Abbreviations for the American Journal of Archaeology (AJA)

Journal Abbreviations for L'Année Philologique Online [pdf]

Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines by Jean Susorney Wellington
Call Number: REF PA 99 .W44 2003
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
Call Number: REF DE 5 .O9 2012
In the online version, look for the link "Abbreviations" in the "NEW AND FEATURED" section.

Abbreviations from the Oxford Classical Dictionary
List of abbreviations used in the digital OCD, now standard in the field of Classics.

Journals NOT Provided by UVM Libraries

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
Open access full-text e-journals
Wiener Studien, Zeitschrift für Klassische Philologie und Patristik
Request articles through Interlibrary Loan