UVM Libraries Research Guides: Classics: Books

Locate Books in Howe Library

These call number ranges in the Howe Library hold a variety of books on Classics.

Browse the Stacks
Find a useful book in the stacks? Browse in that area to discover other books that might be useful.

CLASSICAL PHILOLOGY AND LITERATURE

Books that may be checked out of the Library: 3rd floor. Reference Collection (non-circulating): main/1st floor Row 9

PA51–85 : History, study & teaching
PA111–199 : Greek & Latin Language
PA201–1179 : Greek Philology & Language
PA201–1179 : Greek Philology & Language
PA600–691 : Hellenistic (κοινή) Greek
PA700–791 : Biblical Greek

PA1001–1179 : Medieval & Modern Greek
PA2001–2995 : Latin Philology & Language
PA3000–3049 : Classical Literature (General)
PA3050–5868 : Greek Literature
PA6000 : Latin Literature

HISTORY

Books that may be checked out of the Library: 2nd floor. Reference Collection (non-circulating): main/1st floor Rows 3-4

D51–90 : Ancient History (General)
DE : The Greco-Roman World
DF1-500 : Ancient Greece (to c. 323 A.D.)
DG1–399 : Ancient Italy, Rome to 476 AD

DS71–75 : Ancient Iraq to 638 AD
DS81 : Phoenicia
DS96 : Ancient Syria
DS111–123 : Ancient Israel
DS275–287 : Iran to 651 AD
DT56–93 : Ancient Egypt

OTHER TOPICS

B108–708 : Ancient Philosophy
BL700–820 : Classical Religion and Mythology
BL1600–1695 : Semitic (including Assyro-Babylonian & Syrian)
BL2420–2460 : Egyptian Religion and Mythology
BR160–240 : Early History of Christianity
G82–88 : Ancient Geography
G1033 : Atlases of the Ancient World

KJA : Roman Law
ML162-169 : Ancient Music
NA210–340 : Ancient Architecture
NA69–169 : Ancient Sculpture
ND60–135 : Ancient Painting
NK4645–4654 : Greek & Roman Vases
U20-30 : Military Science, Ancient

Use the Library Catalog to Search for Books in the Library

The Library Catalog locates books, journals (not articles), microfilm, dvds, cds, and U.S. documents (1976->) owned by the UVM Libraries. There are two versions of the catalog:
CATQuest version and the Classic Library Catalog. Each version has its advantages and disadvantages.
Because the CATQuest search box is front and center on the Library homepage, find instructions for using the CATQuest version below. If something confuses you, use the Classic Library Catalog. To find this link on the Library homepage, click the "Research" link at the top of the page and find the link in the "FIND" column.

Find Books by Subject

*Subject Headings Standardized words or phrases assigned to a subject (e.g., etiquette not manners). Library subject headings are similar to tags. We attach these special terms to library catalog records in order to describe the intellectual content of an item more precisely. Subject terms are categories of information; click on one and you'll retrieve a list of similarly tagged items. Allows books on a similar subject to be grouped together in the book stacks.

Use Library of Congress Subject Headings* in the Library Catalog to locate books on your topic. Click image below (live link!) to be brought to the Browse search function in CATQuest.

These are some examples of Library of Congress subject headings on ancient Greece and Rome and ancient history:

mythology greek mythology greek in art mythology roman mythology classical mythology assyro-babylonian mythology middle eastern mythology egyptian	greece antiquities greece history rome antiquities rome history classical antiquities middle east antiquities mediterranean region antiquities egypt antiquities	civilization classical civilization greco-roman civilization ancient civilization assyro-babylonian iraq civilization to 634 egypt civilization
greek poetry greek drama greek drama comedy greek drama tragedy greek literature classical literature latin poetry latin drama latin literature	art ancient art roman sculpture roman art etruscan sculpture greek architecture roman architecture greek architecture classical excavations archaeology greece rome empire	rome history empire rome history military rome army roman law rome economic conditions greece history miitary athens greece history iraq history to 634 egypt history pyramids egypt excavations archaeology egypt
theater greece theater rome	Names of Individuals (e.g., rulers, authors, etc.)-->	examples: aristotle, alexander the great, amenhotep, etc.

For subject headings related to all aspects of military history in the ancient world, see Military History.

TIP When viewing the list of subject headings on the screen after performing a search, note the additional subject headings provided that will lead to additional materials.

Books Beyond Howe Library

Enrich your research by searching for books beyond the UVM Libraries.

Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to millions of digitized titles that are in the public domain. Use it to locate historic or primary source materials from around the world. Use is open to everyone but UVM affiliates can log in to download texts for offline use.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable database of library collections across the United States, Canada and many other countries. Well over a billion records describe books, multimedia, serials, maps, and other information resources.. Many public domain items can be accessed directly through WorldCat or its web version at worldcat.org.

In addition to the databases above, consider:
Book Reviews: Article databases frequently index book reviews. If you find a review (or citation for a review) for a book that looks useful or interesting, check the library catalog to see if the library owns it. If the library doesn't own the book, borrow it through Interlibrary Loan.
Bibliographies: Scholarly journal articles, scholarly encyclopedia essays, and academic-oriented books will provide bibliographies or lists for further reading. If you find a book that looks useful or interesting, check the library catalog to see if the library owns it. If the library doesn't own the book, borrow it through Interlibrary Loan. These are indeed the "low hanging fruit" during the research process!