Two-volume map-by-map directory accompanies the Atlas. This is the standard atlas of its type, spanning the entire time and space of Greek and Roman civilization, c. 1000 B.C. to A.D. 650 (archaic Greece to the Late Roman Empire), and, on its @100 color maps, aims to present 'the significant physical and significant physical and cultural features of the area covered.'
Historical Atlas of the Ancient World (Neue Pauly. Supplemente)
Call Number: REF QUARTO CC 165 .H57 Suppl. 2010
Brill's New Pauly. Supplement 3. Covering the 3rd millennium BC until the 15th century AD, this atlas maps the various cultural, military, political and socio-economic developments in the ancient Near East, Mediterranean world, Byzantine Empire, Islamic world and the Holy Roman Empire. Includes 200 maps (170 of which are color) that document the main historical developments. Each map is accompanied by a text that outlines the main historical developments.
Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity
Call Number: REF FOLIO G 1033 .A84 1981
Atlas of the Roman World by Tim Cornell; John R. MatthewsThis comprehensive, three-part historical and cultural atlas documents the origins of Rome and Greek influence, the transition from Republican to Imperial Rome, and the rise and decline of the Roman Empire.
Encyclopedia of geographical places and features - ancient and modern.
Lexicon of the Greek and Roman Cities and Place Names in Antiquity ca 1500 BC-AD 500 by K. Branigan (Editor); N. Demand (Editor); F. Felten (Editor); A. M. Hakkert (Editor)
Call Number: REF DE 25 .L48 1992 (v.1; fasc.11-18 NOT BOUND)
Ongoing publication which is a good locator and source of information on countless ancient sites.
New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient RomeDefines and describes the known buildings and monuments as well as the geographical and topographical features of ancient Rome. Provides a concise history of each, with measurements, dates, and citations of significant ancient and modern sources.
(1929 ed, from Perseus website]. Print version DG 16 .P685 (2nd floor)
Topographical Bibliography (Porter-Moss)Hosted by The Griffith Institute, University of Oxford. Digital searchable edition of the standard source for both published and unpublished information about ancient Egyptian monuments (on inscribed temples, tombs and statues from all locations in Egypt).
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Peer-reviewed articles are accompanied by bibliographies, links to additional resources, and frequently, images.