Dana Health Sciences Library subscribes to a number of authoritative and evidence based databases to answer clinical questions. These include:
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This free resource comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Embase This link opens in a new window
This resource is used to find scholarly and evidence-based articles from biomedical journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research.
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
This resource is used to find scholarly and evidence-based articles from journals in medicine, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care administration, plus allied health fields and biosciences.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This resource includes systematic reviews from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness. It also includes other resources such as the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window
This resource, formally Natural Medicines, is an evidence-based, full-text resource for information about natural medicines and complementary therapies. Detailed monographs are provided for hundreds of foods, herbs, and dietary supplements, including information about their safety and effectiveness, dosing and administration, adverse effects, interactions, and references.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource provides bibliographic records, some with links to full text, for the research and professional literature in nursing and other allied health fields such as physical therapy and athletic training.
Merative Micromedex This link opens in a new window
This resource is a collection of drug and toxicology databases, including Martindale, Material Safety Data Sheets, Physician's Desk Reference (PDR), POISONDEX, and others. Together, these provide comprehensive information about drugs, diseases, and toxicology, as well as drug interactions, IV compatibility, laboratory tests, product lookups, dosing calculators, and CareNotes for patient education.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This resource contains descriptions of medical diseases and disorders and is designed to be consulted by health care practitioners as they evaluate potential clinical diagnostic and treatment options. It also includes drug information, medical calculators, images, patient information in English and Spanish, continuing medical education modules, and links to full-text journal articles.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
This resource is a diagnostic decision support system designed to aid health care practitioners in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. As the clinician enters patient findings, it creates a differential diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections. The database contains many images from people of different ages, skin colors, body size, and other variations that can affect the recognition of these visible symptoms of disease.
For a full list of the databases we subscribe to, see our Research Databases page.
Interested in accessing these databases on your tablet or smartphone? See our Mobile Apps for Health Sciences guide for an outline of what apps are available. In most cases you will have to set up a user account while on campus to get access to the mobile version.
